March 19, 2012

Baby sign

Posted in Parenting tagged at 8:53 am by lifebytheday

I have been debating whether or not I was going to do baby sign with A – partly because I question whether it helps or actually delays speech, and also because I’m not sure if we’ll be able to be consistent…it’s not really S’s thing.  But recently A has gotten a lot more “talkative”, like he’s really trying to tell us something, so I figured it was worth a shot.

I had just started looking up a few signs last week, and then a friend guilted me into committing to it over the weekend.  So we’re going to start in earnest.  For my record, our first few signs are going to be more, all done, eat, water, and dog. 😉

Does anybody have any experiences with baby sign?  Positive or negative!

9 Comments »

  1. JessSutera said,

    It was actually really neat to see this in action yesterday while babysitting Isabel – she signs for “more” which told me that well, she wanted more of the dinner I made her. Little things like that that not only help me know what she’s looking for but help her know that she’s getting through to me. It was really pretty cool, and she’s gabbing up a storm too (not that I know what she’s saying half the time, but still!). 🙂

  2. jobo said,

    I was going to say what Jess just said! It was neat to see Isabel doing it, but interspersed with actual chitter chatter. Obviously do what works for you dear, of course!

  3. sarah said,

    I’ve had good experiences. My first kid wasn’t interested, but my second took to it quickly and it help cut down the frustration with communication. I honestly don’t think that it interferes with speaking verbally; I read soemwhere that so long as you keep the number of signs limited (under 50) it really doesn’t replace talking. I think kids are motivated to speak – its how we communicate with ea other and they see that. Have fun!

  4. Nicole said,

    We tried but were not consistent. By the time she got some signs (a very few) she could talk more.

  5. Kari said,

    LD watched Baby Signing Time DVDs from about 5 months. We signed with him like crazy until about 9 months. Then we gave up because he didn’t seem to be getting it. Around 12 months he had a sign explosion. Which shocked us because we had stopped signing and watching Signing Time. Now at 20 months we are dealing with speech delays and LD relies heavily on signs with little interest in acquiring new words. He babbles and chatters while signing but they aren’t words. We are starting speech therapy where I plan to get their opinion on whether the signing impacted his language . Not sure I would do signing again based on our experience. He’s a great signer though!! But id trade that for the words his playmates use. Just our experiences. I never even thought about how it would impact his language skills.

  6. DLoweinc said,

    I have been contemplating posting a similar topic but got to yours first! I’ll have to keep checking back for the comments…

  7. Janine said,

    Hi there, so sorry to hear of your experience Kari, we had a fantastic experience using the Baby Signs program (different to Baby Signing Time DVD) with our daughter, so much so I became the Director of Baby Signs Australia. Our daughter now six is doing better than most of her peers in her class in school work and social interactions (very popular and we are always going to birthday parties!) and I contribute a lot of this to the Baby Signs program.

    Over the six years I’ve been involved in promoting the use of Baby Sign Language I’ll be honest and say that I’ve never had a parent contact me about how the program has delayed their child’s speech In fact I’ve experienced the opposite, such as speech therapists contacting me using the program with children they work with. The reason for that is the years of research that was conducted by the program’s founders Dr. Linda Acredolo & Susan Goodwyn (www.babysigns.com) who proved that the Baby Signs program promotes language development, self-esteem, confidence and social aspects such as empathy.

    Also you may be interested to know that one of the things that Dr. Linda Acredolo & Susan Goodwyn will say is that using signs takes far more energy than using words and once children are able to form words they drop the signs. However every child is different and there are so many factors that contribute to a child’s language development and I’m sure a speech therapist will be able to help. Good luck!

  8. Becky said,

    The research does say that using signs actually increases language development and – our reason for doing it with our boys – decreases frustration and tantrums. The kid picked it up relatively quickly. Baby E took his time, but now regularly uses 8-10 signs. He’s started putting them together now in small sentences. it’s pretty darn awesome to know that when he’s stating outside, it’s the bird, or the tree, or the car that he’s looking at and thinking about. Also, him being abel to tell me that he wants milk, water, or to eat, certainly has decreased his overall frustration level (and mine!).

  9. Stephanie said,

    I’ll be interested to see how this goes for you. I’ve been wanting to do it with my daughter, she’s almost 8 months old, but I haven’t started yet. I’m thinking we are getting to the point where we need to start soon. Good luck!


Leave a Reply

