February 13, 2012

In a nutshell

Posted in Life, Parenting at 7:13 pm by lifebytheday

Okay, let’s see…the past eight months…  I really didn’t mean to let it go this long, but every time I had a minute to sit down and write a post I never knew where to begin!  So I guess I’ll backtrack a bit…

My maternity leave flew by in the blink of an eye (FYI, 12 weeks does NOT equal 3 months!) and before I knew it I was back at work.  My last two weeks of leave were full of Irish visitors (literally, the last group left the day before I started back!) and we just barely managed to squeeze in A’s christening.  My job (which deserves a post of its own) did not get any better once A arrived and I finally reached the point of misery where I was able to convince S that we needed to figure out a plan B.

So on November 1st I became a stay-at-home-mom/part-time freelancer and have loved every minute.  It hasn’t been easy – finding the work, and finding time to do it – but we’ve got a good schedule going now and it seems to be working out.  My mother comes over on Tuesdays and Thursdays and watches A so I can work (and even helps with my laundry and housework!) and I squeeze in my other hours while he’s napping on the other days.  It seems to be working out, although S is still really anxious about the long term.  Keeping our fingers crossed…

And in between then and now we took A on his first international flight (to visit his Irish family for Christmas), and I had gall bladder surgery in early January.

So now we’re just trying to catch up with other things that got put on the back burner…one of which is this blog!

A few weeks ago, I was trying to remember when something happened so I started poking through my blog archives and I realized how special it was to have my entire pregnancy documented.  It made me really sad that I hadn’t kept up with my blogging and had missed out on the record of Aidan as a newborn.  So I’m really going to try to make an effort to post more, mostly for my own posterity, but I know there will be plenty of stories to keep you all entertained. 😉

If anyone is even reading this, THANK YOU…I’ve missed you all.  If you’re up to it, drop me a note to say “hey!” and let me know if you have a blog that I should be following. 🙂

3 Comments »

  1. JessSutera said,

    Of course I’m still reading 🙂

    I have to giggle at how you just toss in “oh, and I had gall bladder surgery” – no biggie. You are funny. Glad you are back to blogging though, I think it can be very therapeutic *and* a good use of your “me” time, too 🙂

  2. jobo said,

    I’ve missed you! 😉 But at least I can see you sometimes, so it’s all good! Glad you are back at it, whenever you find the spare moment! XOXO!

  3. nobabyruth said,

    Yay! Glad to see you are back blogging and I hope you stick around. How did A do on his big flights? We took S back to the States a couple times and she did great but I was so nervous before both (or all 4) trips!


Leave a Reply

