May 16, 2011

More rollercoasters

Posted in Pregnancy at 7:25 am by lifebytheday

Sorry for the radio silence friends…last week was ROUGH, and it took us a while to recover.

Monday went from bad to worse when we were told at our appointment that not only did our baby definitely have some sort of obstruction in its intestines, but also that there was a 40% correlation between that condition and Downs’ Syndrome.

Talk about kicking two infertiles while they’re down.  I just couldn’t believe that we had to deal with this after everything that we had been through, and even started questioning whether we should have stopped trying so hard to have a child…that maybe this was our punishment. 

S and I spent Monday afternoon/evening alternating between holding each other and crying, and walking around the house trying to find something really satisfying to smash that wouldn’t cause too much damage.  Luckily we held it together, and made it through the night.

We were lucky enough to get follow up appointments scheduled for Tuesday morning, and we started bright and early (8 am) by meeting with one of the surgeons at Child.ren’s Hospital.  By the end of the hour, we felt 100x better, both by her calm demeanor and clear explanation of the baby’s surgery and recovery, and also by her downgrading of our risk of downs (due to the lack of other soft markers).

Then we moved over to the connecting hospital (where I will now be delivering) for a battery of tests and procedures.  It was recommended to us that we do an amnio – partly to screen for downs – but also to remove some of the excess amniotic fluid (what they call a “therapeutic amnio”).  Apparently I had so much extra fluid (4X what was needed) that I was at risk of my water breaking too soon due to the pressure on my uterus.  And the only risk of the procedure at this point in the pregnancy was my water breaking, which was likely to happen anyways! 

So we agreed that we should do it…but let me tell you friends, amnios are NOT FUN.  Even after all that I’ve been through, I’d rate that experience as one of the worst.  I’m so big and uncomfortable to begin with, and add in all of the contractions that I’ve been having…then picture a needle going through your skin, then through your muscle, and then your uterus and the doctor having a tug of war.  Yes, just as much fun as it sounds.  Oh, and then the baby managed to whack the tube at the same time I had a contraction which kinked and blocked the tube so badly that they had to remove it and insert it AGAIN from the other side.

I spent the whole procedure practicing my labor breathing and trying not to break S’s hand…while the doctors kept telling me that they could stop at any time, but that if I could do “5 more minutes” that I’d really feel much better afterwards.  I figured that since they were already in there and I was already in pain that I would just tough it out, but by the end of it (maybe a half an hour later), S put his foot down and told them I was done.  When they pulled everything out, I got a contraction that seriously lasted 10 minutes and they actually had to put me in a wheelchair just to go down the hall. 

Then we were hooked up to an NST monitor to watch the baby’s heartbeat and my contractions for an hour or so, at which point S went and got us lunch (the best chicken parm sandwich I’ve ever tasted, even though I’m sure it wasn’t really any good)!  The baby was moving around so much (thank God!) that after a half an hour of chasing its heartbeat around, they actually disconnected the heartbeat monitor and just watched my contractions. 

Then I had to go for a blood test and another Rhogam shot (in case any of the baby’s cells crossed with mine during the amnio) and schedule our appointments for next week.  We finally left the hospital 6+ hours later, completely exhausted, both mentally and physically.  Poor S had to go to work to put out fires for a few hours, and I went home and went to bed.  I literally was asleep the minute my head hit the pillow.

Luckily, we were told that they’d have the downs test results back by the end of day Wednesday, so we really only had to get through 24 more hours of waiting.  My parents came over Tuesday night for a quick visit and an update and then my mom came back Wednesday morning to help me do some laundry and cleaning.  And we all spent the day doing a lot of praying.

I got the phone call early in the afternoon and the great news that the preliminary test showed NO DOWNS – thank you Lord!  I honestly didn’t know how much more God thought S and I could handle…but we were definitely at our breaking point for a few days there.

So now we just have to get this baby through another week+ of growing and putting on weight and prepare for surgery and a NICU stay.  But honestly, and as crazy as it sounds, that all feels completely manageable now that we know we are only dealing with ONE problem, that is surgically correctable and without long-term complications.  We know that we’re in for a rough few weeks, but after the past few days, I’m pretty sure we can get through it!  I’m just anxious to have it all behind us.

Oh, and in other news?

We’re having a BOY!!!!!!!!

We decided to find out last Monday – after S and I both saw “it” on the ultrasound and really needed some positive news to hold on to.  It has definitely given us something to look forward to and plan for…and yes, we went blue clothes shopping over the weekend!  😉

Thank you all for your thoughts and prayers.  If you could spare a few extras in the coming weeks, please pray that baby boy will continue to grow big and strong and will get through his surgery with flying colors (and that mommy and daddy will survive his stay in the NICU).  Thank you, thank you, THANK YOU for being there for us.

16 Comments »

  1. Kari said,

    I was thinking about you last week and sending positive vibes in your direction. I’m sorry for all the terrible things you faced last week. I can’t imagine what a rollercoaster of emotions that must have been. I’m glad you were able to get an appointment with Children’s so quickly and that reassurance was plentiful at that appointment!! Congrats on team blue!! Sending you smooth surgery and short NICU stay vibes when the time comes. Until then take it easy and keep growing that little guy big and strong. You’re doing an amazing job Mama!!

  2. No Baby Ruth said,

    I was wondering how things were going lately and hoping that we’d be hearing some good news. I’d say that alllll things considered, we ARE hearing good news. I hate that you have to deal with NICU and surgery on your little one, but I am really glad that there is no Downs AND that you are having a wonderful son!! That really IS the exciting part and I am glad that you found out and are getting in some shopping. 🙂

  3. AplusB said,

    Oh my goodness, you have been through hell and back! I am so glad you have the relief that baby BOY! doesn’t have downs and the intestinal problem can be fixed with no long term effects. The NICU really isn’t that bad…of course it’s not what you want…but the doctors and nurses are so highly trained and good with babies, your little one will be in great hands.

  4. sienna said,

    ugh, you have been through hell this past week!!! on the plus side, i am soooo sooo happy you got this amnio over with and that you got good news on the downs. *phew*. that is the last thing you should’ve had to worry about at this point in the game. i’m glad they pinpointed baby boy’s obstruction and that you met with the surgeon and have a plan in place. i’m confident all will be well, but i know the stress of having him undergo surgery and spend time in the nicu is gonna be hard on you guys. things can only get better from here – chin up please :o) i’m sending you the biggest of hugs and have been thinking about you all week waiting for an update. we’re in the homestretch here – we’ll meet our long awaited babies very soon :o) xoxo.

  5. jobo said,

    Wow, reading this was so gripping (even though I knew, basically, what you went through last week, and when I say I knew, I mean just the bare minimum of course!). The amnio sounds AWFUL! Wow, you are a tough chica. I love that S put his foot down and told them to stop. LOVE the papa bear in him, it’s so so cute! And I am SO GLAD everything is okay. I prayed like hell last week and will continue to do so. YAY for boy! (even though I was angling for a girl hehe). He’s going to be a handsome little devil I can just tell 🙂 Can’t wait to meet him!!!

  6. Ashley said,

    I have been thinking about you nonstop and looking for an update daily. You have been through so much! I’m so sorry you have to deal with a surgery so soon after you meet your munchkin. You can definitely get through it and we will be thinking about you for sure.

    I totally knew you were having a boy. 🙂 I hope you had a marvelous time clothes shopping!

  7. my infertile confessions said,

    Oh man… so sorry for all the drama! But, you had good news at he end of all of this… no downs, and a baby boy! Yay! So happy for you and your hubby! Your baby is going to be just fine and you will both be strong during his surgery! Praying all continues to go well! Xo

  8. Wifey said,

    Oh girl, I think roller coaster really sums up your week. WOW! I can only imagine how hard it was to wait and the amnio sounds so painful. I am glad you made it through everything and they were able to narrow the diganosis down, praise the lord. I will continue to pray for you on this journey, I have no doubt that you & Hubby will be strong enough & do just fine once your SON is born. So exciting for a boy, congrats, congrats, congrats! Keep your chin up, it will all work out and we will keep praying!

  9. JessSutera said,

    Well. You know how I feel about this. So incredibly relieved that prayers were answered. I cannot wait to meet the little guy. A true blessing. love you!

  10. Jenn said,

    Sending some positive vibes your way!

  11. Beth Haines said,

    I have been following your “story” through my daughter, Amy, and want you to know that you are in my thoughts and I will be praying for all of you!! You show so much determination, so I know you will weather the rest of the storm, too!!
    Sending love,
    Beth Haines

  12. Deb said,

    So very glad to hear that everything is okay. YAY for Blue Team! Enjoy the rest of your pregnancy! 🙂

  13. Erin said,

    I’ve also been following your story through Amy. I cannot believe how much you and your husband have been through, and I’m sure that your little boy will bring so much joy to your lives and the world. I’m sending many thoughts and prayers your way in the coming weeks and months. One day soon, with him in your arms, I hope this will all be a distant memory with many more wonderful ones to be made.

  14. squashgirlPhD said,

    You have been through alot this past week. As I read your post I was transported back to my NST days and thankful, so thankful I didn’t have to have an amnio especially that late in the game. You are such a trooper, so strong. Such a rollercoaster of emotions, I am sure. I am so excited that your baby BOY 🙂 is doing well and that the surgery after will be treatable. Thinking and praying for you and your family. I know this has been a really tough journey but you are almost there and you are looking a just about a week until you can see your sweet baby’s face. Amazing!!
    xoxoxoxoxoxoxo

  15. Hillary said,

    Oh, I’m so sorry for all of the stress and scary things that you have had to deal with! So thankful all 3 of you are doing well and hanging in there, and congrats on finding out your sweet babe is a boy!

  16. Lauren said,

    All of my best thoughts and prayers are with you, friend. Infinite hugs – can’t wait to meet that sweet baby BOY!!!


Leave a Reply

