April 13, 2011

It’s official…

Posted in Pregnancy tagged at 3:07 pm by lifebytheday

I’m starting to look a bit disfigured.  😉

Seriously though, I’ve been carrying this baby low from the beginning, and it seems like whenever I have a growth spurt, the bottom gets big first and then the top rounds out…last week was definitely a large and low phase, and this week I’m just BIG.  I think the way I’ve been carrying is why I’ve been having trouble bending over/shaving/putting on socks/shoes – because I know plenty of people who can do those things right to the very end – but I end up in serious pain when I attempt to bend over. 

It has gotten so bad lately that I am even having trouble sitting on the toilet to go to the bathroom!  TMI, I know, but I almost have to straddle the toilet to be able to pee now.  Seriously…where am I supposed to put the belly, and what happens when I “drop”??  Yes friends, the future does not look pretty.  😉

And here’s our 32week update:

How am I feeling?  Surprisingly good!  Legs are still about the same, but nothing new to report…which is nice. 🙂  I’ve been having a few crampy twinges low and to the right, but I think it’s just more growing and stretching pains.

Weight gain?  +24 (the same as I weighed at the dr’s office last week)

Cravings/aversions – For the past several weeks, I have needed to have a corn muffin and a tea/iced tea from DD for breakfast EVERY morning.  Even if we have breakfast food in the house…  I usually have a yogurt smoothie while I’m getting ready and then get breakfast #2 on my way to work.  And even better than corn muffins?  ICE CREAM!  Our local, home-made, ice cream stand opened a week and a half ago, and we’ve already been there three times, lol!

Movement – The baby has gotten even more active and wiggly lately and can now reach a few places that I REALLY wish they couldn’t!  Sternum, rib, bladder…and two places very deep and low that make me feel pretty violated, lol…especially when I’m in public or talking to somebody at the time! 😉

Other updates:

  • I bought my first nursing gear this weekend!  Took a trip to Tar.get and got two nursing bras and two tanks.  Can I tell you how weird it was to try on a tank top with holes for your boobs? ;-P
  • I think I jinxed S and I with my last few “my husband is awesome” posts.  We ended up in another stalemate last night re: daycare and me going back to work.  Can’t go into too much detail here, but ugh…we need a mediator for this one.  We have big plans to work through things tonight, so wish us luck!
  • I just started working on our birth preferences doc, and I’m finding it really tricky to find the right tone (balancing firmness with respect)…suggestions welcome!

Upcoming milestones:

  • My baby shower!  It’s still more than 2 weeks away, but I’m so excited to celebrate with friends and family and be “allowed” to start buying and washing baby clothes! 🙂

And a photo, per request!

32 weeks (actually 31w5d here, on my way to exercise class) 😉

9 Comments »

  1. jsutera654 said,

    Um hello? Where’s the pic?? DYING to see this belly of yours my dear!! And um, I was CRACKING UP at the part about the baby getting into areas you’d rather he/she not go. I can’t even begin to imagine what that entails. Oy. 😉

  2. jsutera654 said,

    PS. Thank you 🙂 You look SO CUTE!!!!

  3. jobo said,

    SO cute…love the pic. You are a beautiful pregnant, happy chick, I gotta say. I can’t wait for your shower!!

  4. Amy said,

    One of my best friends (who is pregnant with #2) says she wants to open a restaurant called Second Breakfast (or Lunch) that caters to pregnant ladies. 🙂 You look great, even if you can’t bend over. Thank goodness tights season is done!

  5. sienna said,

    love love love the pic. i updated the “stuff” section in my blog with my most recent belly pics as well :o) my disfigurement started last month. mostly in my face, although ppl keep telling me i’m crazee. the ppl that know me really well can tell though that i have FFS = fat face syndrome. swelling in my fingers and calves started this weekend. just in time to go to a wedding on saturday :o( but at least no cankles yet!! uhoh, which of you wants you to go back to work vs staying at home? hope dh comes around to whichever *you* want :o) xoxo.

  6. Kari said,

    You look gorgeous!! My goodness just a few more weeks. I’m away from home right now & my birth plan is saved on my home computer. I’ll try to remember to share it with you. All of the nurses/docs asked if we had one and no one seemed put off by it.
    Good luck with the SAH vs. Work conversation. The decisions can be tough.

  7. Ashley said,

    You look great! I can’t believe your belly! The working conversation is a tough one. From my experience it’s best to make a plan now but also see how things go once the munchkin gets here. I thought before the babies came out I really had things figured out, but the baby actually being out of you changes things a LOT!! Also, sleep deprivation can cause all kinds of issues so that is why the pre-plan is good. Good luck, it’s tough!

  8. nobabyruth said,

    You look fabulous!! I bet you are feeling lots of growing pains because your little one is still packing on the pudge!

    I hope that you and the hubs work through the work discussion – it’s hard to know what is right, and what feels right NOW but feel totally wrong in a few months…

  9. iamstacey said,

    oh my gosh, you are all belly! And with 9 more weeks to go! You’re just too adorable!


Leave a Reply

