April 12, 2011

Reflections on hypnobirthing

Posted in Books, Pregnancy tagged at 4:35 pm by lifebytheday

After getting revitalized by Saturday’s childbirth class, I decided that it was time to get back into reading and researching, so last night I read a Hypnobirthing book (The Mongan Method) that I had borrowed from a friend.  I initially had been really interested in this method, but after reading the book I have realized that it is NOT for me. 

There are a few things that I took away from it that I think will be really valuable – including some relaxation techniques and visualization exercises – but I just can’t get behind the entire program as a whole.  I know that it works for some people so I don’t want to be too judgemental, but it is just waayyyy too fruity for me. 

A big part of the hypnobirthing program is a language adjustment (“uterine surge” vs. “contraction”) which I understand the goal of, but just seemed really fake and forced to me.  Hypnobirthing proponents also do not believe in the idea of pushing and do not acknowledge that labor will include pain and hard work.  Just because you don’t acknowledge something doesn’t mean that it doesn’t exist! 

Another big part of the program is to help woman release their fear about labor – which might be important for some people – but as crazy as it sounds, I don’t feel!  I know that it is going to be difficult, but I’m not afraid of the process. 

One thing that I did really like though was the idea of a birth “preferences” document, versus a birth plan.  I think the word preferences better acknowledges the reality of what may happen, and is less likely to alienate the doctors and nursing staff. 

So now I need some help from my readers!  Can you please send me recommendations for good books on natural childbirth that are less “fruity”?  And tell me what kinds of things you are putting in your birth plan/preferences??

4 Comments »

  1. jsutera654 said,

    Not gonna lie -the fact that you are not scared of the process is crazy to me! I’d be scared out of my trees – but then again, maybe that’s why you are the pregnant one, not me. hehe. 😉

  2. jobo said,

    I think it’s awesome that you are looking at all these different childbirth notions and ways of doing things…such an open mind, and why not, right? But yeah, no sense sugar coating it, right? 😉 And don’t listen to my sis, she’s being silly!

  3. sienna said,

    i don’t know of any book recommendations for you :o( i’m clueless about the whole birthing process so far. my intensive childbirth class 2 weekends ago got postponed to this weekend, so hopefully i emerge from there full of knowledge. although, i think i’m chickening out on the natural childbirth part, just from reading about what other bloggies went through. hubby REALLY wants me on drugs, so i have lots to think about. huge props to you for going the natural route! most ppl who go that way are glad they did :o) xoxo.

  4. Jenn said,

    I had back labor because my daughter was “sunny side up” and for me the tub was an absolute life savor – as was breathing learned in yoga.


Leave a Reply

