February 26, 2011

Good OB news

Posted in Pregnancy tagged , at 8:50 am by lifebytheday

Thursday was our 24 week OB appointment (postponed by a week since my dr. was on paternity leave), and S joined me so that he could give them a piece of his mind if they upset me again. ;-P  The dr. that we were meeting with was the one that I have wanted from the beginning, so I made S promise to give him the benefit of the doubt…and the appointment couldn’t have gone better. 

For the first time, I really felt listened to and supported…and he even gave me a few other things to try for my numb legs.  S was making fun of me…”you just want them to tell you SOMETHING!”…but he’s right, I’m in a lot of pain and I want them to take me seriously!  Dr. T (maybe that’s a good sign, the RE that got us pregnant was a Dr. T… 😉 ) said that fluid retention could add to nerve compression, so for me to try a low-sodium diet for a week and see what happened.  (…waiting to start that until AFTER girls night tonight… 😉 )

He also recommended trying a pregnancy support band to shift my center of gravity, so that’s another thing on the to-buy list for the weekend.  To be fair, he acknowledged that neither thing might work, but said they were worth a shot.  That’s all I care about…I’ve already been dealing with this for three months and I’m willing to try just about anything at this point!

The other big news from this appointment was the scheduling of my glucose test, which you all know I am TERRIFIED for.  Not the actual test…I am just so nervous about my pre-dispositions to diabetes and do NOT want to have to deal with GD in my third trimester.  So in addition to cutting out salt, I’m planning to cut WAY down on my sugar intake for the next few weeks as well.  Not really happy about having to find my willpower again, but it’s all worth it if I can avoid GD complications.  I’m not ready to completely cut out all carbs, fruit, etc…but any other tips from folks who have had experiences with GD?

3 Comments »

  1. Kari said,

    Well I hope one of those things helps with the numb legs. I’m so glad you had a good experience with an OB for a change. Good luck with the glucose test. I was borderline after my first one but the second one went ok. I didn’t want to change my diet before the test because I figured the only way to get a true picture of whether or not I had GD was to eat what I usually eat and then test. Hoping it goes well!!

  2. jsutera654 said,

    I’m so glad you found an OB you like and one that listened to you! Seriously, so important. I’m so happy to hear it friend! On the GD thing…you should talk to Jen, she’ll have great advice for you leading up to the test and afterwards, definitely talk to her about it!

  3. jobo said,

    Yay for a good OB! And LOL’d at the low sodium after girls night…what, do we like lots of salt or something? maybe so 😉


Leave a Reply

