February 8, 2011

The revolt of the belly button

Posted in Pregnancy tagged at 8:17 am by lifebytheday

Warning…I’m about to complain.  And before I do that, I feel like I need to point out that obviously, I am loving every minute of being pregnant and getting to experience pregnancy.  I just really want this blog to reflect my true feelings, both as a record of my journey and as a way to share with others who might be feeling the same way but too guilty to express it.  Another friend recently wrote about feeling guilty (albeit for a very different reason), but it reminded me of two things – (1) how powerful guilt can be, and (2) how futile it really is, especially when related to feelings.  You can’t change how you feel and shouldn’t have to hide it…all feelings are valid, and should be accepted by anyone who matters in your life.

So, moving on.

The past several days have brought about two major physical changes…one super exciting and amazing, and one that I could definitely live without.  Sunday night, as I was sitting on the couch getting ready to pass out as the Superbowl wound down, I happened to look down and actually saw my belly move.  Since we had a house full of people at the time I didn’t say anything, but S and I saw it happen again last night.  And let me tell you, it was SO COOL.  🙂

But along with that really exciting new phase has come another one.  Long story short, my belly button is about to throw in the towel.  Since Friday, I have been getting excruciating stabbing pains in my belly button, which culminated yesterday in a pain that actually took my breath away (while out visiting customers with my boss).  It was still so painful last night that S wouldn’t let me go to my exercise class but made me lie on the recliner for the night.  It was fun being spoiled for about twenty minutes, but I stayed in the chair all night because it literally hurt to move.  I even iced my BB for a while which helped (but also woke the baby up in the process).  Popsicle baby! 😉

So right now, my belly button is literally stretched as tight as a guitar string…and I’m almost wishing that it would just pop out and get it over with.  I still have a good half an inch to go and I’m just terrified of how much more painful this could get…  I know that this is nothing compared to labor and some of the other pains I’m sure that I will experience, but the stabbing nature of this pain is really getting to me, both physically and mentally.

So between my belly button and my burning legs, I’m feeling pretty miserable…and I’m starting to get concerned that this is all happening during the trimester that is supposed to be the “honeymoon” phase.  I’ve always thought I was pretty tough – I mean, I went through IF treatments for five years!  But am I really just a sucker and every pregnant woman is in this much pain? 

So there you have it…would anybody like some cheese with my whine?

4 Comments »

  1. Ashley said,

    I loved some moments of being pregnant, and I worked hard to get there and I would go back and be pregnant for five years straight if the end result was Ocean and Ever, but honestly, pregnancy sucks. The overwhelming fears that something awful will happen accompanied by the pains (and yes, it does hurt) makes for a very long nine months. It’s okay to complain sometimes, it’s not easy!! If anyone doubts how much you wanted this baby after all your treatments and everything you went through just because you are not leaping for joy about being in pain, they are idiots. 🙂

    That being said, the first six weeks of parenthood are much more brutal than pregnancy so in a way all the pain and sleeplessness is kind of good preparation.

    Hang in there!! Your belly button will probably feel better if you went to the doctor to find out the gender (hehe 😉

  2. jobo said,

    I agree with the last line above (Your belly button will probably feel better if you went to the doctor to find out the gender) – LOL! 😉

    Glad you got your feelings out rather than feeling guilty for it (clearly I get this…wink) because even though you are absolutely in love with being pregnant and all the incredibleness that surrounds it, um, at the same time you are MORE than allowed to whine about pain (and I wouldn’t call THAT whining). Hell, my bellybutton hurt just thinking about it! Hang in there, my super cute-bellied friend! 🙂

  3. Kristi said,

    Def always express yourself…Even though we went through IF we are human and are allowed to vent

    As far as the belly button..Ouch!!! I actually am still an innie at 37wks and dont think it will pop..But my girlfriend had this problem and hers got so bad that even her clothes touching her skin would cause a burning senstion…Hope yours gives you relief soone:)

  4. jsutera654 said,

    Um, I had to laugh at the title of this post – you are a riot, for the record. BUT on a more serious note? Never, very feel like you can’t “whine” about pregnancy pains. You have more than earned this (not that you should “Have” to earn it but you know what I mean) and I’m so so so happy that you can experience ALL tht pregnancy has to offer, the good, the bad, the ugly. Heh. Embrace it all, as you have.


Leave a Reply

