February 2, 2011

22 week update

Posted in Acupuncture, Alternative therapies, Pregnancy tagged , , , at 11:22 am by lifebytheday

First of all, thank you so much for the great feedback regarding my OB freakout.  I am going to wait and see what happens at my next appointment and then will make a decision for us moving forward.  I’m planning to do a lot more reading and research about doulas, natural childbirth, and advocating for yourself…but I feel better that S and I will be able to work together to handle whatever comes our way.

I had a day full of appointments yesterday – first with my acupuncturist/herbalist and then a shiatsu massage (from his wife).  Some of you may recall that I broke up with my acupuncturist over a year ago…well, when my leg got bad I decided to get back in touch with their office, in the hopes that something would help.  (Some of you mentioned a chiropractor, but I was cautioned against doing that since pregnant muscles are extra pliable and may be stretched too far.)  Despite a great few hours of being pampered (the benefits of snow days and “working” from home), my numb leg came back pretty soon afterwards.  I’m still taking B12, under their guidance, and hoping that might make a difference.  After that, I think I’ll just have to accept the fact that these are the cards I was dealt.  In the grand scheme of things, I still got away easy. 😉

Here’s a quick 22 week update:

How am I feeling?  Getting tired, and uncomfortable when I eat too much again, and starting to get heartburn.  Oh and don’t forget my numb/burning legs.  But loving the continued belly growth!

Weight gain?  +5 lbs (as soon as I asked the doctor about my weight I started gaining…story of my life 😉 )

Cravings?  None right now, still trying to cut back on the sugar and add in more fruits and vegetables.

Milestones?  Feeling the baby move from the outside, and having S feel it for the first time!

4 Comments »

  1. jsutera654 said,

    I’m still amazed at the tiny weight gain!!! How cool that S can feel the baby now too, that must be the coolest thing ever. I’m glad you got some pampering in…even though the numbness is still there. BOO!

  2. Laura said,

    I really think you should do more research into a chiropractor. My midwife actually suggested that I go see one to help with migraines. I really think it would help your leg numbness/pain.

    LAURA

    PS I am not a chiropractor! 🙂

  3. Kari said,

    Yay for S feeling the little one!! What a fabulous milestone!!

  4. jobo said,

    Aww! That’s awesome about S feeling the baby too. How cool. And um, 5 lbs. That’s still crazy 😉


Leave a Reply

