January 21, 2011

And another one bites the dust…

Posted in Pregnancy tagged at 11:52 am by lifebytheday

…another OB, that is.  And she didn’t really bite the dust, I just don’t like her. 

Of the four OBs at my practice, I’ve now met two…and I didn’t click with either of them.  I think a lot of the problem is the fact that I’m used to being “special” and I’m not anymore :-P, but they have both just been really curt in their interactions.  Every question I asked, I got a one word/sentence response, no reassurance, and then “other questions?”  For example, yesterday, I asked her about my numb leg and whether there was anything I could do.  Her response?  No.

So me being me asked her if it could be a vitamin deficiency or something else that was treatable and she said “No.  The only thing you could do if it keeps up is ask your PCP to refer you to a neurologist.”  I mean, I’m clearly not a doctor, but there has to be some middle ground between nothing and neurologist. 

The rest of the five minute appointment proceeded in similar fashion, ending with her actually being annoyed at how much the baby was moving around and how long it took her to get a heartbeat.  We’ve still got a strong, active baby in there…and she did tell me that my uterus is measuring right on track (which she apparently could tell by putting her finger in my belly button)…so the appointment wasn’t a total waste. 

But I mean, seriously, these are the people that are going to be delivering my baby?  Have they ever heard about bedside manners??  I just hope the nurses at my hospital are as good as people say!

So now I’m looking forward to next month’s appointment where I get to meet a third OB (and the one that I actually wanted in the first place, based on online feedback), and I really hope that we click.  After I’ve met all of the doc’s, I’m allowed to “choose” an OB to treat me during the end of my pregnancy…although, it could be any of the four delivering me come D-day.

I just have to keep telling myself…they’re all perfectly competent, it doesn’t matter if I like them or not, all they do is catch the baby…but it’s so hard after the kindness and care we experienced during treatments.  I really hope that I made the right decision in choosing this practice…

6 Comments »

  1. jobo said,

    Wow, that would annoy me too and rub me the wrong way. Curt answers. I mean really, we are talking about a child here, let’s have a little warmth huh?! Hope the next one is good!

  2. Ashley said,

    Finding an OB can be interesting. I was not attached to the birthing process whatsoever so I didn’t really care who did it, but I do LOVE my OB. My mom and DH don’t like her at all. It is so weird to go from the attention during treatments to the regular old pregnant lady stuff.

    Do you go to a chiropractor? I got regular adjustments throughout my pregnancy and maybe they can help with your numb leg!

  3. Kari said,

    Sorry you’re experience with OB’s is so bad. If it makes you feel any better l literally spent less than 10 minutes with the doctor on D-day that I actually focused on him and what he was saying/his attitude. He didn’t show up until push time and he actually showed up well into push time when the nurse called and told him it was catch time. He came and caught and after the catch and release of LD to my chest I didn’t even think of him again, until he told me the kid had torn me up, but at that point I was so enamoured with LD I could have cared less abouth his bedside manner. So don’t stress too much about the D-day doctor, you won’t deal with them much anyway. 🙂 It’s the nurses you really want kind, caring, bedside manner. I do hope you click with the next one though and that’s the one who is on when it’s time for delivery. 🙂

  4. jsutera654 said,

    Agree with Jo – how can OB’s NOT be super comforting and helpful?? That’s so weird to me!!

  5. Janine said,

    How frustrating! I had a similar experience with my OB in my early appointments — mostly because my OB had an extremely busy office and she considered me one of the ones she didn’t really have to worry about (not that I really understood that at the time, given how much you worry about EVERYTHING!) But as we got closer, she started paying a lot more attention to little details… which eventually become super important as you get closer to the big day. I will say that the doctor isn’t always just the one who catches the baby… especially if (not to say you will, but sometimes it does happen!) a game-time decision has to be made about having a c-section. Then, you’ll want someone there who is both extremely caring and extremely capable. So, if you don’t feel like it’s right, you still have time to change!

  6. squashgirlPhD said,

    The curt vibe is the pits….especially when you are used to more care and attention. Will the OB you chose be the one to deliver your baby? If so its important to have a good repoir. I had a great OB who was better and more attentive at thre end. But in the end it was luck of the draw at delivery and they consult with my OB re: the big stuff like my c-section. I also found that OBs in the office can act way different in L&D, that was a plesant surprise~! Good luck!


Leave a Reply

