January 19, 2011

20 week update

Posted in Pregnancy tagged , at 4:27 pm by lifebytheday

Holy moly, I can’t believe that we’re halfway through this pregnancy!  I can’t wait to meet our baby and it feels like it’s going to take FOREVER for him/her to get here, but if the next 20 weeks go by as fast as the first, we’ll be there before we know it.  I wish we had a few more major holidays to distract us, but work is going to pick up soon, so hopefully that will keep me busy!

How am I feeling?  Still the same – everything is great, except for my numb leg pain.  I’m definitely going to push the doctor on it when I see her (the second of the OBs I’ll be meeting) this week…maybe it is just a vitamin deficiency, or something else that’s treatable.

Total weight gain?  +2 (which my 20-yr old brother thinks is totally shocking considering the size of my belly, lol!).  I’m loving the fact that my love handles have all moved to my belly, but I’m actually starting to wonder, shouldn’t I have gained more by now??  If you start counting from my lowest point (assuming that the 8 lbs I lost was all IVF-bloat), then I’ve gained 10.  Is that better? 

Cravings/aversions?  SUGAR.  I have been slowly eating my way through all of the candy we got for Christmas and it has GOT TO STOP.  I love the fact that the baby moves around like crazy after a sugary snack, but I’m getting worried that I’m going to end up with a spastic child if I keep this up.  Plus, I’m TERRIFIED of getting gestational diabetes.  Between diabetes on both sides of my family and my PCOS, I know that it is a distinct possibility and I really want to do what I can to avoid it.  I figure that this week is the perfect time to really work on changing my diet.  Apparently the baby starts swallowing amniotic fluid this week – to practice swallowing – and they can actually taste (and get a taste for!) whatever I’ve been eating!  So I’m going to try to stock up on fruit and eat that when I have a sugar craving…wish me luck. 😉

Milestones?  Halfway!!  And my first prenatal exercise class on Monday night.  I was completely shocked to actually be sore after class and the next day, so I’m really glad that I’m doing it.  And I think I might have found two girls that I could end up being friends with, which would be an added bonus!

Updated belly parade to come soon…

5 Comments »

  1. jsutera654 said,

    I’m waiting for the belly parade 🙂 (and yes, I know – I’ve seen it in person but what can I say? It makes me happy to see you all happy and glowy, just like you SHOULD be!!)

  2. Deb said,

    Wow, don’t you just wonder who figures all these things out? I honestly never would have thought that the fluid would taste like food 🙂 Yay for the halfway point!

  3. squashgirlPhD said,

    Yaya mama! Glad you are doing so well! GD really isn’t so bad if you do get it and I found I was more sore after working out when pg. I think its the ligaments loosening thanks to the hormones! Yay for 1/2 way!!!!

  4. Kari said,

    Hooray for halfway!! Congrats Mama!! Can’t wait to see the belly parade!!

  5. jobo said,

    Aw! Wow, HALFWAY! That’s crazy. Can’t wait for pics 🙂 You are TOO CUTE, I must say. Love the little belly!


Leave a Reply

