January 10, 2011

Ultrasound results

Posted in Pregnancy tagged , at 12:23 pm by lifebytheday

Okay, I won’t keep you in suspense…we decided NOT to find out the gender (sorry Ashley)!  And actually, “we” didn’t decide, S gave in and let me make the decision.  Yet another time that I’ve gotten what I wanted, and yes, I know how lucky I am.  😉  

I felt strongly about not finding out for several reasons…besides the fact that everybody says this is the best surprise that you can ever have, I also want the chance to do things “normal” and “natural” for once.  I was never able to have the “surprise S, we’re pregnant!” moment, and I really want this surprise.  Plus, we have no idea whether we’ll be able to get pregnant again, and I don’t want to have any regrets. 

Also, back to my strange superstitions, having everybody know the sex makes me nervous for some reason.  And then there’s the temptation to tell everybody the baby’s full name, which then makes me feel like there’s no real surprise left!  So all that to say, we’re going to stay on team green…and you’ll all have to wait 4-5 months for the big reveal. 😉

And the punch line?  Everything else at the ultrasound looked PERFECT!  The things that they were looking out for because of S’s niece were all a non-issue…and everything else – heart, brain, spine, stomach, kidneys, fingers, toes, nose, lip – everything, is perfect!  Basically, our baby is beautiful and perfect and we are SO incredibly grateful.  We actually weren’t even that nervous for today’s appointment, amazingly (although we were late because I couldn’t find my lucky bracelet 😉 ), but it was still such a relief to hear the doctor say that everything looked good. 

Besides a little drama when I almost passed out on the ultrasound table – not enough breakfast and too much time on my back (it took a while to get all of the measurements from our very fiesty baby) – we had a great morning and I’m so excited to continue enjoying this pregnancy.

Thank you all for the prayers and well wishes – they’re working!! 😀

8 Comments »

  1. Kari said,

    Awesome!! It will be a fabulous surprise for you to find out the gender at the moment of delivery!! I was SOOOOO going to warn you about the u/s table and breakfast and too much time on your back stuff. The EXACT same thing happened to me!! I was a mess. She had to stop several times because I was about to pass out. In the end I wanted to just pass out so at least she could get all the measurements she wanted and I wouldn’t have been so uncomfortable. Glad you survived!!

  2. jobo said,

    awwww!!!! YAY YAY YAY!! SO glad that baby is perfect and beautiful, not that I expect anything less (and I’m glad you didn’t pass out! yikes!). I respect your decision, absolutely, but wow, that takes some patience of steel! it would be killing me! 🙂 I can’t wait to find out!! LOL

  3. jsutera654 said,

    Love it, friend. LOVE that you are sticking with the surprise (even though, selfishly I’m DYING to know!!) and that the little one is coming along perfectly. I cannot wait to meet him/her, to celebrate such a loved child with you both. XOXO

  4. kristi said,

    Wow girl you are a strong lady for not finding out the sex….I just had to know….guess thats the planner in me….but I do agree this is def a once in a lifetime chance and you dont get these moments in live very often….It will be a wonderful surprise:)

    Im glad the baby is looking good and you are just moving along right on track…I had a lot of low back/sciatica pain in my first trimester…My OB had me take magnesium…In fact it was called Mama Calm…Its a powder form that you mix with water and drink…That really helped me out

  5. AplusB said,

    So glad everything is perfect!! I also get really lightheaded/dizzy during ultrasounds…makes them less fun, doesn’t it?!

  6. Ashley said,

    I am so happy you have a healthy little monkey in there!

    It is best to not tell people names. We waited for the most part because we knew we would get grief over their “unique” names. As far as gender, I don’t have any regrets about knowing, but you are now the 4th person I know who is keeping it a secret so I have had to practice patience before. 🙂

  7. Sienna said,

    Congrats on a great u/s!! You’re due 3 days behind me so we can go through this together :o) i read ur “story” and i couldve writen exactly what did up to ivf. My first cycke was the most traumatic but no.3 worked. Soo happy for you that this finally worked for you. And thanks for your comment today. Xoxo.

  8. iamstacey said,

    Welcome to Team Green! It’s been hard to stay on the team – everyone has given us grief over it at one time or another. But I’m with you – I WANT the surprise! I want my awesome moment! 🙂


Leave a Reply

