January 7, 2011

18 week update

Posted in Pregnancy tagged at 1:50 pm by lifebytheday

I was actually 18 weeks on Wednesday, but I was too superstitious not to post my “superstitions” post, and then yesterday passed in a blur, so here we are today. 😉

How am I feeling?  Good.  I’m finally getting more hungry – S loves that he has an excuse to eat every 2-3 hours with me, lol!  But this sciatica thing is killing me.  It’s happening more and more, and acts up within an hour of walking/standing, even sitting – by the time I finish showering and drying my hair, my right leg is completely numb.  The only thing that makes it better is full-on legs-up reclining, and I’m getting really nervous about what’s going to happen when I have to go back out walking/traveling every day.  I have another week left of working from home, and I’m hoping that it gets better and not worse.  When I saw the dr before Christmas, he said that it should ease up once my uterus moves up and out of my pelvis, but I’ve definitely popped over the past two weeks and it hasn’t gotten any better.  For the time being, I’m just trying to rest as much as possible and not get too worried about it.

Weight gain?  +1  or so (although the dr’s office is always a pound or two higher than my scale).  You would never know that I have only gained a pound by the size of my belly though…looks like I swallowed a basketball!  So far so good in terms of the backside…

Movement?  It’s still hit or miss most days, but this baby takes after his/her mama and LOVES the sugar.  Whenever I have a sugary snack, s/he starts bopping around!  I had an awesome experience the other night…Killian (our cat) decided to hang out on my belly for a while while we were watching tv, and I actually felt the baby in two places at the same time!  I think s/he loved the warmth.

Cravings/aversions?  Besides sugar, not much…I’m just getting more hungry, and not as full when I eat (thank goodness!).

Milestones?  I finally caved and bought a pregnancy pillow over the weekend, and I think I’ve finally figured out the right way to position it.  My hips and back felt better this morning than they have in a while.

Upcoming…  Our level II ultrasound is scheduled for Monday, and I’m super excited to see the little one again, and hopefully even feel some of the movement while watching what s/he is doing!  With the appointment around the corner though, the whether-or-not-to-find-out-the-gender discussion has gotten more intense.  S keeps trying to make all of these deals…”if x, then we find out”…  My favorite was the “if your belly button goes flat by the time of the appointment, then we find out.”  LOL!  I think I’m safe, but barely…I’m not going to have an innie for very much longer!

5 Comments »

  1. THANK YOU THANK YOU!!! We are super excited!

    Haha… I love the “if your belly button goes flat, then…” thats hilarious! Sounds like something we would say/do! Congrats on getting to this point!

  2. jsutera654 said,

    I can totally hear S bargaining with you. What a riot. And I LOVE the Killian story, how cute!! You’ll have to let him sleep there more often so you can feel him/her even more!

  3. Kari said,

    Love it!! I loved the level II ultrasound!! Have fun!!

  4. jobo said,

    that is SO CUTE about Killian!!! awww!! and I am excited for your ultrasound friend! so coooool! XOXO!

  5. Ashley said,

    How about this – if you have a blog named “Life by the Day” and a Level II ultrasound on Monday you should find out? Was that one of the bargains?? Also, it’s about time for a belly photo again. 🙂


Leave a Reply

