January 3, 2011

What a New Year it will be…

Posted in Life, Pregnancy tagged , at 5:43 pm by lifebytheday

So much for posting my New Year’s resolutions on New Year’s Day…Saturday ended up being a rough day (for a variety of reasons) that culminated in a trip to the emergency vet clinic with Bailey for a severe ear infection.  (She’s fine now!)  S and I remarked that it had been a year+ since we had been to the vet with her for anything but a check-up…I guess she’s getting us ready for pediatrician visits in a few months. 😉  And then we spent yesterday shopping, doing errands, and getting ready for reality today.

So I’ve had a lot of time to think about how I feel about this new year, and I’m afraid that this is one of those instances where I am filled with so much emotion that I can’t really express it.  2010 was a year of ups and downs…a new (very stressful) job, two failed IVF cycles, the decision (and resulting depression) to end fertility treatments and start looking into adoption, followed by a miracle pregnancy and very successful first trimester.  It is finally starting to sink in that by the end of 2011, we will have an almost 7 month old baby…and basically, next year couldn’t look more different. 

I am SO looking forward to getting to meet our baby and see what he/she looks like, acts like, and how much joy they bring to our lives.  I am looking forward to continuing to grow in my relationship with S, and adding a new dimension to our relationship as parents.  And I am looking forward to new challenges and changes in my work/life balance, that only time (and little bit of luck) will tell.  I know that next year won’t be all uphill…but right now it is very full of hope and happiness and I just can’t wait to live the hell out of it! 🙂

Besides my plans to stay healthy and happy (and zen) throughout the rest of my pregnancy, I am giving myself a more concrete resolution for next year.  I am going to send a birthday card to each and every one of my friends and family members, with the intention of getting the card to them on or before their actual day.  Although this probably sounds lame (and not very difficult), I am terrible about keeping track of people’s birthdays and I always feel guilty about it.  I love receiving cards, so I am going use these cards to show and tell people how very much they mean to me.  And I really want to get back into the habit of corresponding with people (beyond an occasional FB message), and I’m pretty sure that if it doesn’t happen by the time the baby’s born, it never will.

So there you have it…my hopes and resolutions for the next year.  Wishing you all a year full of happiness and peace, and all those things that your heart truly desires.

5 Comments »

  1. Kari said,

    Sounds like a great goal!! It was mine last year, didn’t work out so well but I’m hoping you’re much more successful than me. 🙂 Glad you’re enjoying your pregnancy, you’ve earned it!!

  2. my infertile confessions said,

    Hey! Just got caught up with your blog! So excited for you and look forward to following your happily ever after 🙂

    Since I’m only 4 weeks, it was fun reading about your early pregnancy!

  3. jsutera654 said,

    Reason #4,567 why I love you! You are so thoughtful, what an awesome resolution my dear! I love it!! And I’m SO SO SO glad that this year is turning into an emotional one for you in the best way possible. You have worked so hard for this and you can finally enjoy every last moment of this time before your little one arrives. So happy for you!!!

  4. kristi said,

    This year will indeed be a great one for you:) I am just so happy to enter 2001 as 2010 will literally pure hell for us besides being and staying pregnant but I am so happy to not even see or plan a fertility cycle in 2011 that alone is worth a million dollars

  5. jobo said,

    Aww, that is so thoughtful!! I never do that, and should, because I LOVE getting them! It’s such a thoughtful touch and means so much. You’re the best, ya know that? XO!


Leave a Reply

