December 31, 2010

Merry (belated) Christmas, and Happy New Year!

Posted in Life, Pregnancy tagged , at 10:03 am by lifebytheday

Wow, a LOT has happened since I wrote last. 

S and I both survived the countdown to Christmas…wrapped up our work projects, managed to get all of the Christmas presents bought and wrapped, and had a fantastic party at our house on Christmas Eve (where I got to see my father drunk for the second time in my life, hysterical!). 

And we had a wonderful Christmas morning…I woke up starving at 4am and tried to convince S to do presents then, but I guess until the baby is actually here I can’t really pull the “baby wants to get up” card, lol.  I managed to go back to sleep until 8 or so, which was definitely a good move.  Santa spoiled us with lots of thoughtful gifts, including U.gg slippers for me and a new go-kart racing suit for S, and of course brought Bailey and Killian some new toys, including a reindeer antler and a dangling peacock feather (their respective favorites).  We all felt very blessed and had a blast playing with the fur-babies on our last Christmas morning as just us.

We also traveled to Ireland and back (!)…left on Christmas night after dinner with my folks, and just got back yesterday.  We got great seats with extra leg room on the way there (S pulled the ‘pregnant wife’ card) and got lucky with a fast wind and a short flight home yesterday.  It was a quick trip, but we really enjoyed the time with S’s family.  Some highlights…S’s day/night out with the lads for a 12 pubs of Christmas (they only made it to 5), hitting up every maternity store in town with S’s sister, seeing our god-daughter and meeting her younger brother, and lots of time spent eating and chatting by the fire.  I think it will be a few days before I can determine whether my growing belly is baby or Irish chocolate. 😉

It was a whirlwind of a trip (and will definitely be the last time we try to squeeze everything into five days), and although we’re not really sure where we are or what day it is, we’re very glad to be home.

Oh, and the other big milestone??  My definitively feeling the baby move.  And get this, it happened at church on Christmas Eve.  Despite being squashed into the pew by a large smelly woman and having my sciatica go haywire, it was definitely a Christmas miracle that I’ll never forget.  Feeling the movement is still a little hit or miss…I think the time change really confused the little one…but I just got a few flutters as I was sitting here writing this post, so there’s officially a baby in there. 😉

Hope everyone had a happy and blessed Christmas…and wishing you all the best for New Year’s Eve and the year to come! 

(NYE revelations and resolutions to come tomorrow…)

5 Comments »

  1. Kari said,

    Sounds like you had a fabulous Christmas!! Congrats on feeling that movement!! It’s amazing, isn’t it?

  2. jsutera654 said,

    LOVE LOVE LOVE that you finally felt the little one wiggling around in there, how cool!!! I’m so glad you guys had an awesome time in Ireland, we’ve missed you!! xoxo

  3. jobo said,

    Aww!! so glad you had such a great Christmas a time in Ireland. Can’t wait to hear all about it, and love that you felt the baby move!!

  4. kristi said,

    Glad felt the baby move…As those movements get stronger you will be more and more reassured things are going in the right direction:) Glad you had a great Christmas and Happy New Years!!!

  5. Deb said,

    Sounds like a lovely holiday and trip!


Leave a Reply

