December 6, 2010

The cat’s out of the bag

Posted in Pregnancy tagged , at 7:26 pm by lifebytheday

Last night I did what I SWORE I would never do…and announced our pregnancy on FB! 

I’m not a huge fan of the “look at me, look at me!” nature of FB announcements…so I had been planning on just giving my sister-in-law the green light and having her break the news.  But last night, I got the urge to be normal for a change…and pressed POST! 

We just told the remainder of our close friends on Saturday night and at 13w5d, I’m finally feeling pretty secure in the fact that I am pregnant and will be staying that way!  Although I commented to S yesterday how strange it is to think that we are actually going to have a baby in our house next summer…it still feels so surreal.

I sincerely hope that I didn’t hurt anybody by our announcement…although I’m sure it stung for at least a few people.  Even though it’s a little bit selfish, I’m just trying to do all of the things that I might ever want to have experienced, in case this is the only time we’re able to be pregnant.  I’d rather be embarrassed about something I did than regret not doing it later on!  😉

With all that said, I’ve been completely overwhelmed by the amount of people who have sent comments, love, and well wishes.  This baby is going to be very loved. 🙂

4 Comments »

  1. jsutera654 said,

    I LOVE that you are doing such “normal” things. Don’t ever feel like you need to apologize for that fact. You’ve more than earned this friend, more than ever. xo

  2. Jolene said,

    I LOVED seeing it…it wasn’t at all “look at me, look at me” – everyone is thrilled for you and holy cow, just looked back at all the comments on FB, that’s amazing!!! you two ARE loved and everyone is pulling for you. Love it!!!!

  3. Kari said,

    Don’t feel selfish. You deserve to revel in this amazing time!! I know as someone who faced IF at times those FB posts did hurt, but everyone deserves to celebrate. Once I was pregnant I did FB posts too. Sounds like you shared in a sensitive way and that’s awesome!!

  4. iamstacey said,

    I still can’t talk about it on FB – I’m just so scared I’ll jinx it! But hubby posts about it from time to time so I know it’s out there. It sucks that IF can make us afraid of the fun parts of being pregnant. Good for you for being brave and embracing the whole experience!


Leave a Reply

