December 4, 2010

Green team

Posted in Pregnancy tagged at 8:11 am by lifebytheday

So the punch line to my last post is that yes, I’m strange.  And you know what, I’m okay with that.  S and I haven’t been following any of the rules since we found out we were pregnant…why did I think I’d start now? 

The only thing that I’m still being superstitious about is finding out the sex and naming the baby.  For some reason, everyone knowing exactly what you’re having and knowing its name gives me the heebie jeebies, although it worked out great for a lot of our friends (thank goodness!).

In response to one of my loyal followers, yes Ashley, I guess I am a “green teamer.”  Sorry, LOL! 😉  Besides the fact that I love green (all the Irish must have rubbed off on me 😉 ), I really want the bulk of our core purchases to be gender neutral.  Whether we end up finding out the sex this time or not, I know that we want to have at least one more child, and if we end up having to adopt to complete our family, then we definitely won’t be able to find out the sex!

So for now, everything is green (apple green, aqua, or turquoise…) and ivory and I’m loving it. 😉 

For all those mommies out there, what “stuff” could you not live without??

5 Comments »

  1. Kari said,

    We love, love, LOVE our Beco carrier!! Both DH and I use it, and have used it since LD was just a few days old, to carry him around. We have an Ergo too but that doesn’t work so well for the very little babies without a bulky infant insert(the Beco comes with a fabric panel that works as the insert). I don’t think we could live without it. Also our swing. We got the Fisher Price My Little Lamb Cradle n Swing and it’s been a life(and arm) saver. I had delusions I was going to be an attachment parent and wear him around ALL THE TIME, but since he’s been here I realized how almost impossible that is. You can’t really wear a baby and cook, not that I minded having an excuse for not cooking, but sometimes you just need a break from babywearing. Along those same lines his Fisher Price Rainforest playmat has been a good thing that he loves. So far other than our own washer and dryer, because we cloth diaper, I can’t think of any other can’t live withouts.

  2. Caiti said,

    Helloooo!! I am having so much fun catching up on your blog! …and yes, I peeked at your registry, you definitely made the right choice on the travel system / infant car seat…we have the same one. It lasted two babies and is still going strong.

    Anywho, we have a LOT to catch up on! Your blog has really opened my eyes to a lot that I have gone through in my life…your words have really stood out to me. I’ll catch you up on a private message, but THANK YOU!

    PS…the one item I can not live with out is the “Happiest Baby on the Block” book by Dr. Harvey Karp. A HUGE lifesaver!

  3. iamstacey said,

    Much to my mother and MIL’s dismay, I’m on Team Green, too! I want the whole surprise! Besides, due to our age we’ll be trying again ASAP, so it’d be better if everything was gender-neutral. That way it can be used again soon no matter what the genders. But mostly, I just want the big surprise! 🙂

  4. Ashley said,

    Oh no, not the Green Team!! I know lots of people that do it though. I hate surprises, even good ones. DH wanted to green team, but I told him next time. I don’t want anymore kids, but I haven’t told him that either. 🙂 Good luck green teaming though, if that’s your kind of thing. 🙂

    Just kidding – to answer your question, the #1 most precious thing in our house was bouncy seats. Only one of them liked the swing, but both loved the bouncy seat and it was a life saver many times. Also, get lots and lots of swaddling blankies. Everything else isn’t really necessary and won’t be used for awhile. Oh wait, if you’re a busybody like us get a stroller that you like especially one that will take your carseat because it is so easy. And a tub for the sink.

    I’m so happy for you!! I know I’ve said that many times but I just get so excited everytime you post!

  5. D said,

    If you haven’t already put it on the registry you may want to think about it? I love my mat for the bathtub. It hangs over the edge and is a sweet little cusion for your knees. 🙂


Leave a Reply

