November 23, 2010

Nursery room themes – ideas please!

Posted in Baby tagged , at 10:57 am by lifebytheday

I’ve decided (I think!) that I want to decorate our nursery around a children’s story – just keep the bedding neutral and pull together the accessories myself – since I can’t seem to settle on any of the sets-in-a-bag!

Some of the ideas I’m liking right now:

Dr. Seuss
Goodnight Moon
Noah’s Ark …

And that’s as far as I’ve got!  Help me!!  I don’t want anything too commercial, but I still want it to be fun and fresh…any ideas??

 What were your favorite stories, fairy tales, or nursery rhymes?

 

6 Comments »

  1. jsutera654 said,

    LOVE the idea of Goodnight Moon! Though I’m also partial to “If you give a mouse a cookie” but not sure how that would play out in a nursery, unless you just used the colors and stuff from the book and stuck cute little stuffed mice everywhere. hehe. 😉

  2. Em said,

    All of those ideas are so great and I love this especially since I’m a first grade teacher!! 🙂 Annnnnd, this way it will be gender neutral for any possible siblings in the future!! I think Dr. Seuss could be really cool because that way you could do all sorts of fun things like Cat in the Hat, Green Eggs and Ham, etc. Even Corduroy the Bear could be super cute!! 🙂 So excited to see what you decide on!! Whatever it is I know it will be so precious!!

  3. Kari said,

    Also love this idea!! I have to say I’m in love with all the Very Hungry Caterpillar-Eric Carle style toys LD has. Not sure if you’d consider that too commercial now though. Can’t wait to see what you decide!!

  4. jolene1079 said,

    I love these ideas! All of them. See, I’m no help 😉

  5. Amy said,

    Of course, I love this idea because it revolves around books. 😉

    Dr. Seuss conjures up bright colors in my mind’s eye, and I don’t know if that’s what you want in the nursery… “Where the Wild Things Are” could be fun, but it might be more boyish. I just love those illustrations! “Olivia” is fun, for a simpler color palette. She’s so stinkin’ sassy, perfect for a little girl. You could also pick a more general theme (like birds or ballerinas or boats) and use different books about those topics. So many children’s books have beautiful illustrations–framing pages from books would be an easy way to decorate the walls.

    This is so much fun!!
    xoxo

  6. Amanda said,

    I just started reading your blog, and let me tell you I have been here for about 2 hours now! I am starting my first IVF with PCOS, and have really felt connected to your posts.
    Anyway! Congratulations! And my input on the nursery, I LOVE older themes…Old Pooh and Peter Rabbit are my favorites! Can’t wait to read what you choose!


Leave a Reply

