November 22, 2010

To test or not to test

Posted in Pregnancy tagged at 3:10 pm by lifebytheday

Genetic testing, that is…

I mentioned a few weeks ago about being completely overwhelmed by the decisions that we now have to make…and it hasn’t gotten any easier.  After much discussion, S and I have decided not to pursue any genetic testing.  After everything we’ve been through, S and I believe that this child is a gift directly from God, and there would be nothing that would make us consider aborting, or doing any invasive genetic testing (like an amnio or CVS) that could potentially result in miscarriage.

But the issue now is that my new OB’s office is recommending that we go through the early (NT) screening, but we haven’t yet had the opportunity to meet with a doctor to discuss (I just keep getting voicemails from the nurses about scheduling the procedure).  Without going into too much detail, S has a family member that puts us at slightly higher risk for a genetic issue (not one of the biggies like down syndrome, or trisomy-18, but still relatively serious).  It is completely manageable, just something that we’d have to plan for, but not something that we think we need to start worrying about at week 12.

S is concerned that I would worry myself into a miscarriage, based on a screening test that isn’t even definitive.  And to be honest, although I told him I wouldn’t, I honestly don’t know how I’d feel if we got questionable news.  We just feel like we deserve the chance to actually enjoy this pregnancy…

So this morning I called the OB back and officially opted out of the early screening test.  We will likely do the later one (around 18 weeks), just so that we can start getting prepared…but I made it very clear where we stood on the issue moving forward.  At this point, I’m just looking to my appointment (a week from today!) where we get to see the baby again, and finally meet one of the doctors.  Hopefully they are supportive of our decision…

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

TheLittleThings – I’ve been slacking on my blogging and thanking, but in the spirit of Thanksgiving week, I want to bring this back!  Today I am thankful for my husband – for his support, love, and acceptance.  We have both grown so much over the past 8+ years, and I am so grateful to have him as my partner in life.

3 Comments »

  1. jsutera654 said,

    As you know, I totally support your decision re: genetic testing! I’m happy you decided to stick to your guns on this one! And I’m SO happy that you and S are such a strong team, it’s so awesome to see! Love you guys!!

  2. Kari said,

    Only you can make the decision of whether to do those tests or not. It sounds like you made the right decision. What an awesome thing to be thankful for!!

  3. jolene1079 said,

    I support you either way, obviously but am also really respectful of your choice. I think it was the choice I would have made, in your shoes too, and am so glad at how happy you two are. It shows. You are so cute pregnant too!! 🙂


Leave a Reply

