November 3, 2010

Wow, there’s really a BABY in there!

Posted in Pregnancy tagged , , , at 8:31 pm by lifebytheday

Add today to the list of amazing experiences…

As you know, today was our follow up ultrasound to investigate the “something” they found at last week’s appointment.  So S and I took the hour and a half trek (during morning rush hour) into Boston – making me seriously appreciate our decision to deliver at the nearby hospital – and arrived with just enough time to find the new office. 

First weird moment of the day was S and I sitting amongst a sea of big pregnant bellies.  I kept saying to him, “I belong here, right??”  The one thing that was really nice was that the gynecological and obstetric portions of the practice actually had two separate waiting rooms…something that a fertile woman would probably never notice, but made a big impression on me.

We were called in and I was told that they’d actually be doing an EXTERNAL ultrasound.  I don’t think that anyone who isn’t intimately familiar with the dildo-cam could ever fully understand how exciting this was…that honestly was the moment when I felt like I had MADE IT.  😛 

So I whipped out the belly and we proceeded to look at a perfectly healthy baby…with arms and legs…that was MOVING!  Seeing our baby stretch its legs and wave its hand was seriously the most amazing moment ever…10x better better than hearing the heartbeat even!  It just made it feel so real that S and I were literally walking on air for the rest of the day.  And the best part was that they couldn’t find anything abnormal or extra (and yes, they brought out Mr. Dildo-Cam to double check), so we’re officially in the clear!

I’ll try to convince S to let me post the u/s pictures later, but for now, I’ll leave you with my TheLittleThings thankfulness for today – that technology exists to let us see our baby at 9 weeks old, and to reassure us that everything is a-ok! 😀

7 Comments »

  1. Kari said,

    Whoo hoo!! Congrats!! I’m sooooooooooooooo happy for you!! 🙂

  2. kristi said,

    Yeah glad everything went well:) It is so fun to see the little gummy bear moving around..I used to say our baby was doing the fat dance because they look like a little blob with stubby legs and arms…but so so cute!!!!

  3. Gailly said,

    Please post the scan picture 🙂 I’ve been following your blog for ages (lurker) and I’m only one day ahead of you. I’ve got another two or three weeks to wait until my external scan and I’d love to see what my babies (I’m having twins) would look like at this stage.

    As I’ve not posted before now I’d like to say “many congrats!” too!

    Gailly x

  4. jolene1079 said,

    Yay!! That’s awesome!!! Woohoo for baby!!

  5. jsutera654 said,

    I loved reading this!! So exciting and wow does it really feel real now or what?? I cannot wait to meet him or her 🙂

  6. D said,

    YAY! It keeps getting better, and more amazing. I’m so excited for you!

  7. iamstacey said,

    I’m so happy that everything is ok! What an amazing relief!


Leave a Reply

