November 2, 2010

I’m not special, and that’s a good thing.

Posted in Pregnancy tagged , , at 5:51 pm by lifebytheday

Today I officially called and made a prenatal appointment with the local OB’s office. 

I haven’t had a “regular” gynecologist in over four years, so it was a bit nerve-wracking to have to find the doctor who will (hopefully!) be delivering our baby in 7 months.  It took a lot of soul-searching and discussion with S, and part of the problem is that we not only had to decide on a doctor, but on the hospital where we planned to deliver. 

We have a good hospital only 15 minutes from our house – and only 5 minutes from S’ business – but it’s just a standard hospital, not one of the well-known or teaching hospitals in Boston.  The way we figure it, if we continue to be considered low-risk, we’ll appreciate the convenience and it won’t matter that we’re not at a “Boston” hospital.  They have a lot of extra comforts – like private rooms, one-on-one nursing, and family-centered care – and all of the key factors in case of an emergency – a level two special care nursery and an MGH neonatologist on duty 24/7. 

We watched a video tour last night and I have to say, it was the birthing tub that sold me. 😉  I know that sounds a bit fruity, but I use tubs as migraine pain-management, so I’m assuming that it will help during labor as well. 

So once we finalized our decision to deliver at the local hospital, I felt comfortable enough to call and make an appointment with an OB’s office that had been recommended to me.  I’m still feeling a little unsure about that decision because I won’t see a doctor until week 12, and at that point, will need to cycle through all four of the doctors in the practice.  I assume they do that so that you’ve met every doctor that could possibly be delivering you, but I really hope that I’ll get to choose the doctor that I connect with best.  We’ll see…

I guess I’ll just have to get used to not being special, huh? 😉

#TheLittleThings – Today, I’m thankful for a job that allows me to occasionally work from home…and take a mid-day nap! 🙂

6 Comments »

  1. jolene1079 said,

    Yay! That’s awesome. Love your little thankfulness for today 🙂

  2. squashgirlPhD said,

    Awesome!!! Glad you were able to make a decision about which Dr. and hospital you’ll deliver at. Cycling through the Dr.s’ isn’t a bad thing and I hope you find one you feel comfortable with! BTW birthing tubs are awesome!!!!!

  3. Kari said,

    It’s ok to not be special!! Sometimes special is over-rated!! 🙂 Nothing fruity about the birthing tub. We switched hospitals sometime around 30 weeks and the birthing tub weighed heavily in that decision, it meant the hospital was open to the more natural childbirth I wanted. Making a decision earlier in your pregnancy about what’s important to you on Labor Day is a smart thing to do. 🙂 Hope you click with the OB’s you’ve selected.

  4. jsutera654 said,

    Well….you’re still special to me, but that wasn’t your point, I know. 😉 BUT I love that you can call yourself “normal” at this point in things, how cool is that?? And who knew being “normal” could feel so good, right?? I’m glad you chose the closer hospital, after what we’ve been through lately, the closer the better is my vote!!

  5. D said,

    Ever think about a midwife? I absolutely loved mine. Sorry I probably just threw in another curveball for you! Would love to chat about it if you want. 🙂

  6. iamstacey said,

    It’s been the hardest thing for me to learn that I’m not “special” anymore! 🙂 Although they’re wonderful, my regular OB’s office just doesn’t compare to the careful and frequent monitoring of the IF doc’s office. I miss the regular ultrasounds!


Leave a Reply

