October 29, 2010

8 week update

Posted in Pregnancy tagged at 5:50 pm by lifebytheday

I can’t believe I am officially 2 months pregnant (!), or that I’m going to write a blog like all those “confident” pregnant women…but I’m going to give it a shot.  I’m a day late (we were 8 wks yesterday), but I think I might like to have a record of how I’m feeling from month to month.  I don’t think I’m willing to start posting belly shots yet (actually haven’t even taken one yet 😉 ) but maybe next time.

How am I feeling?  Pretty good lately!  Now that I’ve stopped fighting the carbs, and as long as I eat something every 3 hours or so, the nausea seems to have disappeared.  I’m still having some food aversions, but more in terms of just not being tempted by food, rather than actually feeling nauseous at the sight of it.  I’m still super tired – in fact, had to pull over on the way home from work yesterday and take a nap – but my cold is finally getting better and I feel much more energized.  More than anything though, I think I’m starting to accept and enjoy the fact that I’m actually pregnant!

Weight gain?  -6!  I’ve actually lost weight since our IVF cycle (about 8 lbs) but have gained 2 back in the past few days.  And I am actually kind of starting to show!  I know that it’s probably mostly bloating, but I definitely have a little lower pooch going on.

Cravings?  CARBS, and popsicles.  I’ve kind of lost my major craving for mashed potatoes – sorry Spud! – and now I’m all about bagels, toast, crackers, etc.  I’m sneaking in protein (cashew butter) and dairy (cream cheese, and chocolate milk) and I’m also really enjoying apples right now.

Aversions?  Yogurt – which I really miss – vegetables, and meats.  I force myself to have half a portion of animal protein and some vegetables with each dinner, but I definitely don’t want them.

Umm…?  Okay, so I guess I don’t really know what else I’m supposed to include in these updates!  Suggestions?? 😉

7 Comments »

  1. Thanks for your comment! Congrats to you as well! I’ll make sure to keep updating my blog.

  2. jolene1079 said,

    Yay for two months! Pretty soon some progress pics perhaps? 😉

  3. Eileen said,

    I remember the yogurt and meat aversion well! Congrats on the 2 month mark! Looking forward to following you on your pregnancy journey.

  4. Kari said,

    Congrats on two months!! 🙂

  5. jsutera654 said,

    YAY!! I love reading your pregnancy updates – because not only does it feel more real to me too but it also makes me SO HAPPY that you are settling into the realization that you are, indeed, pregnant. I am so happy for you. And yes, I’d like to cast a vote for pics soon too 🙂

  6. Meg said,

    Time to start taking pictures from the side to document it!

  7. TisWID said,

    Hun – I’ve been refraining from commenting b/c well…I’m superstitious beyond belief. But now that you have reached a safer timeperiod, I feel I can. I am BEYOND excited for you and S. I know this has been a dream of your’s for many years and truly believe this is meant to be. All the heartache you’ve had to endure will finally pay off and you two are going to be amazing parents. And proudly we have – and will continue to – share this journey with you both as you enter this exciting phase. I know it we have still have some time, but can’t wait to meet the lil one. XO


Leave a Reply

