October 27, 2010

Book recommendation – pregnancy cookbook

Posted in Books, Pregnancy tagged , at 7:49 pm by lifebytheday

Again, THANK YOU for the reassuring comments that my baby is not going to be born with two heads.  I’m feeling better today, and just trying to think zen for the next week.  Wish me luck.  😉

I thought I would start a little mini-series of book reviews since I am now in posession of 7 (seven) different pregnancy books.  Yes, that’s a little OTT (over-the-top, as S would say), but in my defense, I’m a book lover!  Two of the seven were loaned to me by a friend, one is a cookbook, one is an organizer, one is about finding bargains on baby goods, and the other two…well, they’re more your standard pregnancy book. 

My current FAVORITE is a cookbook called “The Well-Rounded Pregnancy Cookbook – 100 recipes that adapt to fit how you feel”.  Along with a great introduction about eating healthy and whole, each recipe comes with three variations based on whether you are “feeling green” (nauseous), “feeling food” (hungry), or “feeling full” (bloated, not hungry, etc.) 

I have been lucky enough not to have any morning sickness, but I have been having a lot of food aversions, so I was surprised to discover so many recipes that looked tempting and delicious!  I tried a chicken recipe tonight and actually enjoyed chicken again!  I am so excited to cook my way through this cookbook, and foresee myself using this cookbook for many years to come.  I just need to ask Santa for an immersion blender so that I can make the soups! 😉

3 Comments »

  1. jolene1079 said,

    Glad you are feeling better about things! And ya know, now that you said you want an immersion blender, you’re going to get 8 of them for Christmas 😉

  2. Sara said,

    Thank you for stopping by my blog! I will definitely take you up on sharing that lucky #5! 🙂 I am also a huge reader. Your book review idea sounds fun! Happy ICLW!

  3. Kristin said,

    That sounds like a great cookbook.

    Sorry you are having to worry about the ultrasound. I had an anomalous reading during one of my ultrasounds and was totally wigging out until they got me in to see the perinatologist and his big bad machine. Everything turned out perfectly.

    ICLW #14


Leave a Reply

