October 26, 2010

Good news, and some questionable news

Posted in Pregnancy tagged , , at 8:37 pm by lifebytheday

So we had our second ultrasound today, and got (mostly) good news.  The baby is looking great and growing right on track (7w4d), and we actually got to HEAR the heartbeat today (155) which was totally amazing.

I had a hard time enjoying the experience though, because they also found “something else” in there besides the baby.  The RE (not mine, another one of the team docs) thinks that it could be either part of the baby that was just overlapping on the ultrasound, or part of a twin that stopped developing.  Either of those options could be dealt with, but I now have myself convinced that it’s a second head or something.  :-/ 

Hormonal pregnant women should not have to deal with unknown issues.

And the worst part is that they can’t get me in for another ultrasound (on the more high-powered machine in the OB office) until a week from tomorrow.  Like I wasn’t worried enough before.

9 Comments »

  1. Kari said,

    First yippee!! Congrats on seeing the baby and hearing the heartbeat!! Sorry you have to wait so long for the next u/s. 😦 I’m sure everything will be fine. Try not to worry.

  2. Alenka said,

    I totally second your opinion on hormonal pregnant women not having to deal with unknown issues (any issues for that matter). Sorry you have to face this, I am sure it will be fine (I once had a shadow on the ultrasound in the uterus that went away the next time they checked). Good luck with everything, I am just a day behind you.

  3. WiseGuy said,

    Great, I typed out this huge comment that just got sucked into some black hole!

    I want to congratulate you for your pregnancy, and it was so nice to get to see the baby and hear the heartbeat.

    I pray that whatever is the other thing seen is innocuous. I know that I would have blown my brains over that too.

    Thanks for the lovely comment you left on my blog.

  4. kristi said,

    I have found since I have such close monitoring that there is so much room for error with US machines….I know easier to say than do but I wouldnt come to any conclusions until you are able to get a second look…Most likely its nothing….maybe just a vanishing twin?

  5. Ashley said,

    What a fabulous heartbeat!! That would make me nervous too, I’m sure everything will be fine.

  6. homecookedem said,

    Hearing the heartbeat is such a HUGE milestone!! 🙂 I’m so happy for you!! I will pray extra hard for you that everything is ok… please try not to worry, I know that’s hard, but relaxing and taking it easy is what’s going to help you and baby the most! 🙂

  7. jolene1079 said,

    SO glad you heard such a strong healthy heartbeat. I hope you get the answers you need on the “other something” and hopefully it wasn’t anything major. XO.

  8. BU said,

    I’m thinking that your baby probably does NOT have 2 heads. 🙂 Congratulations and sorry that you have to do even more waiting…

  9. Krissi said,

    Congrats on the pregnancy!! I’m sure it’s not a 2nd head! It’ll be ok! I would love to feature your IF success story when you’re ready! Happy ICLW! #72 & 106


Leave a Reply

