October 16, 2010

Introducing Spud

Posted in Pregnancy tagged , , at 9:06 am by lifebytheday

Yesterday definitely ranked in my top five best days ever, which last night’s insomnia can attest to.  It was the most amazing thing to actually see our baby’s heartbeat on the ultrasound, and to hear the doctors say that the measurements look perfect. 

I have a very dear friend who did not get good news at her first ultrasound, and that worry was almost consuming me as we waited for yesterday’s appointment.  Both S and I had a moment of panic that there wasn’t going to be anything in there, and then maybe the briefest flicker of disappointment and sadness for the baby that didn’t make it…which was followed by complete and utter excitement.  I literally was shaking for a good hour!

I decided that we needed to celebrate with my parents, so we took them out to dinner, and over the course of the night, we christened our baby-to-be.  I was mentioning that I’ve been craving mashed potatoes – literally, I had them with dinner every night this week! – and it just popped into my head…”we should call the baby Spud.”  Everyone started dying laughing, and the nickname stuck.  At least we know that the baby is Irish, right? 😉

Oh, and one other thing – we have a due date – June 9th, 2011!!!  That means that I’m offically six weeks (and two days), counting down to magic week #13.  Oh and our anniversary is June 12th, so we figure we’ll be getting a very special present that day…at least we’ll be celebrating our seven-year itch anniversary in style! 😉

6 Comments »

  1. jolene1079 said,

    Wow, this post gave me chills. I can just imagine the feelings that rushed through you both when you saw that heartbeat. Speechless. Incredulous. A miracle. I am so so so glad for you two and can’t wait to watch it all unfold. What an awesome due date…that’s just amazing. XO!

  2. Kari said,

    Love it!! I craved mashed potatoes in the beginning too. It’s a great craving!! 🙂 I think Spud is the perfect nickname!! What a special due date!! I’m so excited to be following along with your pregnancy!!

  3. meg said,

    So exciting – It is so refreshing to see good things happen to good people! Finally a little Karma coming back in style! XOXO Meg

  4. jsutera654 said,

    Similar to Jo (and my text to you yesterday!), I had goosebumps reading this. I cannot even IMAGINE what it must have felt like to hear that heartbeat and to see that little bean (SPUD!) in there! I am SO SO SO happy for you both, love you!! xoxo

  5. amber1279 said,

    that is such wonderful news! I have to wait till Nov 1st. I think the wait it going to kill me! LOL

  6. iamstacey said,

    I’m so excited for you guys! Your hubby is so sweet. It’s so exciting! We did the same thing – after the first u/s, we just couldn’t hold it in and told my folks and my brother! I’m just a little ahead, and that longing for week 13 still seems so real! It’s fastinating to read that all those feelings and worries are universal in the IF world, I think! 🙂 I LOVE the name Spud! Perfect!


Leave a Reply

