October 11, 2010

Back from a much needed vacation

Posted in Life, Pregnancy tagged , at 10:56 am by lifebytheday

As I mentioned before, S and I took a trip last week to San Francisco and wine country.  We rented a house in Healdsburg, CA and joined five of our best friends for a trip that was all about relaxing, eating, and drinking.  Well, obviously, I wasn’t drinking, so I was the DD for the whole week…and yes, my friends were very appreciative.  😉  And yes, I still had a great time! 

When S and I were considering this trip, we figured that it would either be self-medication (in the event of another failed cycle) or celebration (that I wouldn’t really mind not drinking if we were actually pregnant) – and we were definitely right.  In fact, I think that the fact that we went ahead with this trip was probably another reason why we were successful this cycle.  I just decided that I wasn’t going to plan my life around IF any more…which lead to unused Rascal Flatts tickets, a zip lining excursion where S went solo, and a trip to wine country where I couldn’t drink. 😉

Some pics:

 

S took one for the team and learned to like wine, which was fun and funny to watch in and of itself. 🙂

In other news, despite the fact that I still can’t believe that we’re pregnant…I think I’m actually starting to feel pregnant.  Some random symptoms:

  • a general feeling of ickiness – I’m not really interested in food, mostly crave carbs (which is very unlike me), and get full very fast.
  • weird aches and discomfort – it actually hurts to sleep or lay on my stomach, and even sleeping on my side sometimes feels uncomfortable, like my stomach is twisting.
  • noticeable bloating (and gas)
  • and a new one I just noticed last night?  blue veins in my boobs!  so strange, but another recognized pregnancy symptom.

I’m literally just collecting these symptoms and trying to make myself  RELAX and believe that I’m actually pregnant while we wait for our ultrasound on Friday.  I seriously wish that our second beta had just been that 100 points higher – maybe I’d feel more confident now – although, I’d probably still be worrying regardless.  I hope that I can start actually enjoying being pregnant soon…

5 Comments »

  1. jsutera654 said,

    Friend! Loved reading this – especially the realization that you didn’t allow this round of IF to make you change the way you were living. I am SO SO SO glad we got to share such a wonderful experience together in wine country. It was awesome…especially watching S learn to appreciate wine, I’m so proud 😉

  2. Meg said,

    That entire post sums up why you won the “Sportsmanship Award”!

  3. Kelly said,

    Still so happy for you! I think that especially when you have gone through IVF, that lingering disbelief sticks around for a long time. I’m near the very end and I still sometimes have trouble accepting that this happened for us. Enjoy collecting those symptoms! 🙂

  4. Kari said,

    So glad you had a great vacation!! Can’t wait to hear about Friday’s ultrasound!!

  5. Jolene said,

    I concur with the sportsmanship award 😉 Still so excited for you and had such a blast with you!!


Leave a Reply

