October 3, 2010

Shock and awe

Posted in Infertility, IVF tagged , at 7:52 pm by lifebytheday

I can’t quite believe that I’m about to type this…but I’m happy (and completely shocked) to announce that we’re finally PREGNANT!

Yes, you read that correctly…we are actually pregnant, successful from our FIFTH IVF cycle.

The whole morning was surreal…  I had decided last night that I was going to take a pregnancy test this morning, because I was CONVINCED that the cycle hadn’t worked and I didn’t want to have to deal with another VM from the nurse…”hiiii J…we’re so sorry…”  So I POAS’d first thing this morning and promptly put the stick back in the packaging and started getting ready for our beta appointment.  As determined as I was to know the results before the nurse called, I also didn’t want to have to go for a blood test already knowing that it was futile.  So S and I drove into Boston and back while I got increasingly testy and wound up. 

When we walked back into the house, I ran upstairs to get the test, just to pull the bandaid off and get the bad news over with.  I walked back downstairs and into the kitchen and pulled the test out of the packaging in front of S, with “see?” practically on the tip of my tongue…and then I looked at the test.  My mouth dropped open and I said to S, “Is that a + sign???” 

We noticed that the horizontal line was a bit fainter than the vertical line and I didn’t know which line actually meant pregnant…and since I had long since thrown out the original box, we ran upstairs to the computer to go online.  S was like “I can’t believe we’re looking up whether we’re pregnant on the computer!”  LOL!  We determined that the vertical line was the one that made it positive, but still didn’t completely believe our eyes.  So we divided and conquered – S made breakfast while I ran out to get some more tests – the digital kind!

Once I got back, I ran back upstairs (sensing a pattern here?) and did another test, and then flew back down to show S.  He was like, “how long do we have to wait for this one?” and I whipped out the test that said PREGNANT.  I’m sure it sounds insane, but even that didn’t convince us.  We were so nervous to get our hopes up that S actually peed on a stick as well, just to make sure that they were working, lol! 

By this time it was about 10:30 and we started wandering around the house, trying to find things to do while we waited for the RE’s office to call.  S even ran out of things to clean inside and started washing the cars!  At 11:30 (way earlier than normal), we got the call.  The test was officially positive, with a beta of 886!!!

We spent the rest of the day calling and visiting my parents and some close friends…and just looking at each other in awe.  I don’t think we’ll fully relax until the ultrasound, but for now, we’re trying to celebrate finally being pregnant!  Our next milestone is beta #2 on Tuesday morning, so if you don’t mind, keep sending those prayers and crossing those fingers – we couldn’t be more grateful for all of the thoughts and prayers that were sent our way, while I didn’t feel strong enough to pray for ourselves.

So again, thank you!  And thank you God for this beautiful opportunity. 🙂

23 Comments »

  1. Kari said,

    WHAT AN AWESOME BETA!! I am so thrilled for you and S!! Congrats and take it easy!!

  2. palea said,

    OMG! So happy for you. Best wishes for beta #2!!!

  3. homecookedem said,

    CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!!!!!! I’ve been keeping up with your blog for quite some time now and I have been praying for so hard this past week!! 🙂 I just had this great feeling this morning that you would get a positive. God is so good!! 🙂 I will continue to keep you and your growing baby in my prayers each day. I literally just squealed when I saw this and my husband looked at me like a crazy woman, haha!! I’m just SO HAPPY for you!! 🙂

  4. jolene said,

    Soooooo happy for you and feeling so blessed FOR you, words can’t even describe! Can’t wait to celebrate when you get to wine country!!! Xoxo!

  5. Jess said,

    Babe? You KNOW how freakin thrilled/amazed/overjoyed that this has finally happened for you both. I PROMISE to be the best “auntie” ever! Love you both so much!

  6. egghunt said,

    Ohmygosh. That beta is so freaking high it’s adorable! So happy for you. How surreal it must all feel…..
    x

  7. Haidee said,

    CONGRATULATIONS!!! Such fabulous news 🙂 Give me hope for my own cycle that it can and does happen! You guys must be just walking on air! xox

  8. Hillary said,

    OH MY GOSH!!!!! Yay!!! So very happy for you! And what a great first beta!

  9. 2ctt said,

    WELL DONE!!

    Hope everything goes swimmingly.

    love 2ctt xx

  10. Rose said,

    So Happy for you! Been following you for awhile and it’s so great to see you achieve your dream. Congratulations! Enjoy every second. Positive thoughts and prayers headed your way 🙂

  11. Emily R said,

    YAY! I always read my blog roll in the order they’re listed…I saw you had written and thought, “I’m just going to skip down in case it’s good news.” And it is! Congrats!

  12. Kelly said,

    CONGRATULATIONS!! So happy that you had some wonderful news to share. I’ll keep sending you good vibes of course. 🙂

  13. Ashley said,

    That is AMAZING!! I checked the computer 100 times yesterday. That is a HUGE beta!! Must be triplets. 🙂

    Congratulations. I am so happy for you!!!!!

  14. Lauren said,

    CONGRATULATIONS x a million, lady!!!!! Continuing to send good thoughts to you and S – SO excited for you both!!!!! xoxo

  15. D said,

    OMG CONGRATS!! I’m sending a virtual hug and when I see you next you’ll get a great big bear hug! I’m so happy for you I’m crying. 🙂 But for wonderful reasons of course!! And side note, S is hilarious! I laughed out loud because I can totally picture him doing that!! 🙂

  16. melissa said,

    Congratulations!!! what an awesome BETA!! Adorable about S peeing on the stick too 🙂

  17. Misfits said,

    That is an amazing beta! Congratulations. I am so happy for you to have wonderful news and to see that + sign!

  18. here from LFCA –

    i loved reading this post this morning, what an incredible story!! congratulations!!!! :~)

  19. cowgirltn said,

    I loved your story and I loved the BFP even more.

  20. elaine said,

    Yay! Your story is inspiring! CONGRATS!!

  21. Justine said,

    CONGRATULATIONS! What super news! Sending lots of positive thoughts your way …

  22. […] the news – a huge blessing – just before Jeannine and Shane arrived – read this to find out why. Simply amazing. I’m speechless and thrilled for you, words cannot […]

  23. […] – of life: My bestie shared some AMAZING news with me the day I arrived at the house in Healdsburg, for those of you who […]


Leave a Reply

