September 14, 2010

Surprise!

Posted in Infertility, IVF tagged , , , at 9:46 pm by lifebytheday

We’re triggering tonight for retrieval on Thursday!

I know…I’ve been a terrible blogger this cycle – sorry friends!  My 12+ hour days at work combined with my complete ambivalence towards this cycle means that I haven’t really acknowledged that this cycle was happening.  Added to that is the fact that I’ve been on stims for much less time this cycle and it was practically over before I realized it had begun! 

Last night marked our tenth and final day of stims, whereas with my previous cycles I was stimming between 15 and 20 days each time.  I am hopeful that less messing around with my eggs will mean better quality, because it’s definitely looking like we’re going to have less by way of quantity (mature eggs) this time.  I told S to remind me of that (quality not quantity!) when I wake up from anaesthesia on Thursday and get my egg count. 😉

I’m still feeling pretty numb…but as one of my BF’s said, I’ve tried every other attitude (positive, negative…) so I may as well try just not caring!  I’m not sure when, or even if, I’ll start to feel hopeful again, but in the meantime, if anyone has some hope or prayers to spare, I’d greatly appreciate you sending them my way. 🙂

6 Comments »

  1. egghunt said,

    That sounds REALLY positive that you are triggering already. I didn’t realise that you had stimmed for so many days on previous cycles. 10 days is perfect and obviously they are growing at the perfect rate this time. It’s GREAT news!!!
    Numbness is a coping mechanism and I agree with your BF you’ve tried the other emotions so why not give this one a go!
    Good luck.

  2. Kari said,

    Good luck!! Ambivalence worked for me so I’m cheering you on and hoping ambivalence is your magic emotion as well!! Can’t wait to hear your count on Thursday and it is most def quality and not quantity.

  3. Meg said,

    Holy Un-sharer! Good for you for playing it close to the vest – I do that all the time. Sometimes it feels good to let it all out; BUT sometimes it feels BETTER to keep it all to myself.

    Anywhoooo – best of luck, stay safe, and I’ll see you soon!

    XO
    Meg

  4. Kelly said,

    Best of luck to you!! Let’s hope ambivalence is the key. 🙂

  5. jolene1079 said,

    Friend!!! I am praying so so so much for you…and am glad the date is coming up sooner than you thought! XO!

  6. jsutera654 said,

    As I said in my text this morning – I’m sending as many prayers as possible your way. Be safe tomorrow!! xoxo


Leave a Reply

