August 20, 2010

The last straw

Posted in Life at 11:50 am by lifebytheday

Yes, the last straw, at least for this week, was an appliance. 

Or rather…a broken appliance.

On Monday night we noticed that the freezer was defrosted, which wasn’t actually that unusual.  Our fridge is on the older side (the kitchen was built around it two owners ago) and if you close the bottom door too hard, the freezer door pops open and everything defrosts.  I threw out the things that were ruined and we went to bed.

On Tuesday morning, I opened up my yogurt smoothie and took a big swig of lukewarm yogurt before realizing that the entire fridge was warm.  According to the appliance repairman the computer burned out, which apparently happened sometime Monday afternoon, so by Tuesday morning, all of the food was ruined.

Something about having to throw out hundreds of dollars of food – including all of the “healthy” food for the week that I had just purchased on Sunday – completely sent me over the edge.

Picture me (a sweaty, sore mess – post-day 2-run) huddled over a trash bag, throwing out brand new food…and SOBBING.  I know that it wasn’t rational – and it actually has been kind of freeing to not be able to cook for the past few days – but for some reason, all of the stress and depression combined into a broken-fridge-meltdown.

However, I’m now happy to report that the fridge is getting fixed this afternoon, and that through some combination of working out, catching up on work, and pep talks from friends and family I am in a much better place.  I’m looking forward to a weekend away with friends, who know me well enough that I don’t have to pretend to be anything other than what I am.  And really, who can stay sad when eating, drinking, and lake-ing with friends?!

3 Comments »

  1. jolene1079 said,

    UGH!! I would be SO MAD if that happened to me! I would probably cry too, for the record. And I cannot WAIT to spend the weekend with you guys!! And I love this part: a weekend away with friends, who know me well enough that I don’t have to pretend to be anything other than what I am – DAMN STRAIGHT!!! XO!

  2. jsutera654 said,

    I’m so glad you decided to come up to the lake this weekend, I promise it’ll be worth it!!! xoxo

  3. Hillary said,

    Gah – I would have been a hot mess too!! I hope this weekend brings a small reprieve from your grieving and gives you rest in your soul.


Leave a Reply

