July 27, 2010

The nursery

Posted in Life tagged , at 7:26 am by lifebytheday

So I feel like I have to explain why it is that I’m all of a sudden looking at baby bedding.

When we re-did our bathroom last October, we ended up semi-destroying the two rooms on either side.  The one on the left became the guest room and was completed in January/February (pictures to come, I promise!), but the one on the right – the future nursery – sat with the door closed, for MONTHS. 

This room has always been “extra” – when we moved into a four bedroom house two years ago, it was with the intention of having at least two kids to fill up some of the space.  In the short term, the rooms were set up as our bedroom, an office, a guest room, and “the future nursery” (i.e. an empty room that was never redecorated and alternated between being storage and a work-out space).

Post bathroom-reno (and pre-IVF #3.5), we decided that if we had to repair the walls anyways, we may as well start to get the room ready to be a nursery.  Something about throwing it out into the universe…  So S re-insulated (including noise reducing insulation against the bathroom and hallway walls) and drywalled, we had carpet installed, and I started trying to find the perfect paint color.

I can’t remember when or how I decided on the color of the nursery, but for ages now, I’ve known that I wanted it to be a pale apple green.  Trust me, that color is easier said than done.  The bedroom is on its fourth coat of paint (the last one just went up over the weekend and I think we have a winner!) and it has been everything from neon lime, to lime green, to bright apple green, and now (finally!) to what I think is a pale apple green.

Now that we finally have the right color, the room just seems like it’s begging to be filled up.  When we were painting on Sunday, S made a cute comment about how maybe we can get pregnant now that the room is the right color. 😉 

I’m trying to focus on the fact that somehow, some day, there will be a baby in that room…

3 Comments »

  1. jolene1079 said,

    I think somehow someday there WILL be a baby in that room, friend…it’s just a matter of “how” that baby will come into your life, through successful IVF or other methods…but either way, whatever happens, I am confident of that. XO!

  2. Amy said,

    I have no doubt in my mind that a sweet baby will get to enjoy those pale apple green walls. No doubt! xoxo

  3. jsutera654 said,

    What my sis said – I firmly believe that beautiful baby room will be home to your baby one day soon. And I’m here with as many hugs as you’re willing to accept in the meantime 🙂 xo


Leave a Reply

