May 19, 2010

Symptoms or side effects?

Posted in Infertility, IVF at 7:29 am by lifebytheday

I’ve now reached the point in my cycle where I’m starting to doubt…starting to worry that maybe all of my symptoms are just side effects of the supplementary hormones in the meds.  The only thing that is keeping me hopeful is the twinges I felt earlier…but I’m seriously starting to lose it. 

I even cried the other night after my progesterone shot, not because it hurt (which they do), but because I can’t imagine how my @$$ will survive 10 weeks of  these shots, but at the same time, to have to do these shots for 10 weeks would mean that our deepest wish came true. 

This is the point in the cycle where I think everybody worries that they’re potentially doing the shots and taking the meds for nothing.  Even when you’re trying to stay hopeful, it’s just so depressing and discouraging.

More than anything though, I’m sick of feeling lousy and not having an excuse for it.  I think (I hope at least!) that once I know that I’m pregnant and that the baby (or babies) are officially “stuck” and healthy that I’ll just be able to ignore some of the symptoms.  But right now, they just feel like a tease.

Four more days…

5 Comments »

  1. jsutera654 said,

    Aww babe, hugs! I am totally failing at keeping you preoccupied this week! I know it won’t change how your feeling, but I am here for you anytime any day if you need some distraction!! Hang in there. xo

  2. Kari said,

    ((BIG HUGS)) You’re right, this is that point where things start getting tough. You’ve made it this far!! More than 1/2 way there!! You can do it!! Just 4 more days!! I hope you find a way to make the next few days fly by. It’s hard. I know. Hang onto those twingey feelings!! 🙂

  3. jolene1079 said,

    Four days…you can do it….XO!

  4. 21reena said,

    omg- Saturday is so close and so far away – i know the feeling – YOU CAN DO IT!!!

  5. egghunt said,

    Its such a mind mess isn’t it? Having to keep taking those meds and not knowing if it’s actually needed. Thats whats doing my head in.
    But just stop and breathe for a second. Big deep breaths in and out. in and out. in and out. Now, remind yourself about how positive you were feeling a few posts ago when you were talking about all those lovely twinges and cramps. I hope it’s all good and that you get GREAT news in a few days time. Knowing that you are injecting those pio shots for a good reason will make them so much less painful!!!
    xxxx
    PS – Don’t think from this comment that I’m managing this 2ww any better than you, it’s ridiculous and i’m quite eager for it to be OVER!! But it has been lovely to be able to share the highs and lows with someone who is going thru this at the exact same time as me, thanks!


Leave a Reply

