May 14, 2010

Twin musings

Posted in Infertility, IVF tagged , , at 7:12 am by lifebytheday

Yesterday, the twingey cramps moved to my right side, and it was really hard not to let my hope off its leash, thinking about the possibility of the second embryo implanting.  I made some comment to S about “our second baby digging in” – thinking that I’d freak him out – but he just raised his eyebrows and gave me a little smile.  It’s funny, I keep making these little comments to him – not as a test, but more to make sure that we’re on the same page (i.e. that he’s freaking out as much as I am) – and he keeps surprising me. 

Perfect example – on my birthday last Friday, I still wasn’t feeling well enough to do much, so we went to a local restaurant for dinner, grabbed ice cream from the local creamery for dessert, and then went to the local hole-in-the-wall cinema.  It was a perfect night, marred only by my terrible choice of movie – The Back-Up Plan (spoiler alert).  Yes…on the night before our transfer, I chose to go see a movie about artificial insemination.  Strangely enough, I really needed to see it for some reason…little did I know that she (Jen.nifer Lopez) would get pregnant with TWINS. 

At one point in the movie (which was actually TERRIBLE by the way, even content aside), the boyfriend is freaking out about how much twins are going to cost – I glanced over at S, and was surprised to see that he didn’t seem worried.  So then I said, “look at how much CRAP you need with twins!” and he was like “that’s okay, we can handle it.”  Um, what?!?  LOL! 

It’s funny, I think we’ve both always had a feeling that we might end up with twins.  We first had the discussion when we started this IF journey FOUR years ago – starting with Clomid, there’s actually a higher risk of unplanned twins – so I had to make sure that he was on board.  We definitely wouldn’t have been ready for them then, but we knew it was a possibility.  Around that same time, S’s mom (who lives in Ireland) even heard from a psychic she went to that the next children in her family would be twins – crazy right?!

So anyways, all that to say that we’d still be terrified if we got pregnant with twins, but would consider it a major blessing and a miracle.  I just don’t know how we’re going to make it another 8 days before finding out whether we’re even pregnant!!  Earlier in the week, poor S was like “the blood test is on Saturday, right?  NEXT Saturday??”  So cute.

And wow, I just have to say thank you all for keeping me company on this two week wait.  The last two days I received the highest number of blog hits ever (!), which means that either (a) you enjoy hearing a mad woman’s insane thoughts, or (b) you’re here out of interest and support.  I’m assuming that it’s b, so THANK YOU. 🙂

5 Comments »

  1. jsutera654 said,

    That is awesome – of course we all love you and want to help you through this journey, especially these last lonnnng 8 days. I’m pulling for you guys!!!!

  2. Kari said,

    Twins would be a blessing!! Hoping this next week passes as quickly as possible and the highly anticipated beta is here before you know it!!(i know, wishful thinking) At least know we’re all here anxiously waiting for your results too!! 🙂

  3. APlusB said,

    Sounds like a very good sign to me! Hope the rest of the wait goes quickly.

  4. jolene1079 said,

    Yay, you sound so optimistic…I love this. And um, I will still be in Vegas when you find out!! Jess will just have to fill me in…and hopefully some good news and another reason to have a drink for you 😉

  5. egghunt said,

    I’m definitely here because of option B!!
    I love that you are sounding so much more relaxed now and S is 100% right, if you are special enough to end up with twins you will make it work. It may not be what you would have planned but then this whole IF journey probably wasn’t what you had in mind when you dreamt of your path to parenthood either!
    Stay happy, it might even rub off on me!!


Leave a Reply

