May 7, 2010

The big 2-8

Posted in Infertility, Life tagged , , at 8:42 am by lifebytheday

Yup, today’s my birthday – I’m now 28 – officially in my LATE 20’s. 😉  With everything that’s been going on, it kind of feels a bit anticlimactic…or maybe more like pre-climactic?  It’s hard to focus on anything besides this cycle, and the fact that I really wanted to have (at least!) two children by age 28.  I know that was mostly just a little girl’s dreams, but my master plan was always to get married at 22 (check! little did I know how insane that actually was), and have my four babies at 24, 26, 28, and 30.  I always thought that 30 was SO OLD, practically geriatric, and that 30 was the absolute LAST CHANCE to have a baby.  Geez, I’m glad I burst that bubble!

I have never really worried about getting older (probably because I’m still really not old ;-))…but more because I feel like life just keeps getting better.  I feel like my relationship with S has not only survived infertility, but has thrived, and love seeing him take care of me, our house, and our furbabies.  I also (miraculously!) am enjoying my job!  I’m still not quite ready to call it a career – especially since (again with the master plan) I really would prefer to be a SAHM.  But for now, we’re making the best of what is really a very good life.  A baby (or babies) would really just be the cherry on top.

Do you hear that God?  Pretty please with a cherry on top?

Anyways, I have big plans to enjoy my day – got tickets to Rascal Flatts from S before he left for work (yay!), am sneaking out of the “office” mid-afternoon to get manicures and pedicures with my mom, and have big plans for a “nice” dinner out!  There’s definitely a glass of champagne with my name on it. 🙂

6 Comments »

  1. Kari said,

    Happy Birthday!! Enjoy your day!!

  2. Squashgirl said,

    Happy Birthday! I saw Rascal Flatts for my 29th birthday, so fun! Enjoy your weekend and the mani/pedis (jealous!!)

  3. 2ctt said,

    HaPpY BiRtHdAy!! I’m 28 this year too but for some reason I still feel about 16 hehe.

    Enjoy your day! Wish I was going to see the RF’s too.

    Ctt xx

  4. jolene1079 said,

    happy birthday friend!!! you deserve it!!!

  5. jsutera654 said,

    Happy birthday babeeeeee!!! I hope today is amazing. The weather sure is, that’s a good sign in my book. And I totally agree – you do get better with age, and I mean that in the best possible way. 🙂 So jealous of your Rascal Flatts tickets, that’s awesome!!! Good job, S!!

  6. Jane said,

    I love your positivity…it’s beautiful! Have a wonderful birthday!!!


Leave a Reply

