May 6, 2010

Retrieval report

Posted in IVF tagged at 6:51 am by lifebytheday

Hi friends – sorry I went MIA yesterday.  Unfortunately, I had another rough retrieval day and spent the afternoon recovering and trying to decide whether I needed to go to the hospital.  😦 

The retrieval itself went well – they got 13 eggs, which is better than the norm (8-10) and only slightly lower than my record (16).  The big question now is how many of those were mature, which I won’t find out until this afternoon.

From the minute I woke up though, I was in a lot of pain, so I got an extra dose of IV D.emerol, which led to some nausea, dizziness, and almost passing out a few times.  I apparently don’t handle D.emerol very well – sorry Pat (my lovely patient nurse). 😉  So even though my retrieval was at 8am, I didn’t end up walking out the door until noon.

Before I left the building, they did another ultrasound (they actually did one before they even wheeled me out of the OR) to confirm that there wasn’t any internal bleeding.  Although I’ve had my issues with this practice, I really appreciated the care they took to make sure I was safe and comfortable (well as comfortable as possible!). 

And the knowledge that there hadn’t been any bleeding definitely helped when I started to get shooting pains up my back by mid-afternoon, the exact same pain that signaled major bleeding last time.  I was in a lot of pain, but just kept taking Tylenol and using the heating pad, and tried to wait it out. 

The fact that I had to do a presentation today at 1pm definitely encouraged me to stick it out, but I also just didn’t want to be alarmist, so I decided to wait until it got better or worse.  I figured that if I was up all night with the pain that we’d make a little trip to the ER, but luckily I found a comfortable position and slept all night!

This morning my back feels MUCH better, and although my stomach is extremely sore, I feel like I can deal with that.  I remember being told the last time that everybody has some internal bleeding but that it usually just stops by itself and is absorbed into the body, so hopefully that’s what happened.  I just must be more sensitive than most.  I’m sure you’re shocked to hear that. 😛

So anyways, I’m desperately trying to get my brain in presentation mode this morning, and not worry too much about our embryos.  Although if anybody has an extra moment to throw a prayer or positive vibe our way, I would REALLY appreciate it.  Thanks for thinking about and checking on me yesterday – y’all are the best!

7 Comments »

  1. Jane said,

    Thinking of your embies and your presentation too…good luck with everything!

  2. jolene1079 said,

    Wow…but you MADE it, so proud of you! you are a tough cookie!! Can’t wait to hear more!

  3. Squashgirl said,

    13 eggs! Thats great! I hope that there were many mature ones in there! Come on embies!!! I was thinking of you all day yesterday I am glad so far despite the pain and worry you are doing ok! Good luck at the presentation today and I hope for good news from the Dr. this afternoon!

  4. Kari said,

    Congrats on the bountiful retrieval!! Can’t wait to hear the report. So sorry you had such a painful time. 😦 Glad to hear you’re feeling better!! 🙂

  5. Kari said,

    P.S. Good luck with the presentation!!

  6. 2ctt said,

    I’ll add you to my list. Good luck and glad you’re feeling better.

  7. jsutera654 said,

    Hang in there friend!! I hope you rock your presentation today – despite how you may be feeling, I’m sure you will manage to wow them all as usual 🙂


Leave a Reply

