May 6, 2010

Numbers

Posted in IVF tagged , , , , at 4:03 pm by lifebytheday

Just heard from the RE, and here are the stats:

  • Out of 13 eggs retrieved,
  • 8 were mature – yay! (8 mature eggs is my record, and that was out of 16!); ICSI was done on all 8, and
  • 7 eggs fertilized!!

Now we just have to keep praying that they keep growing!  We’ll find out on Saturday morning whether we are doing a 3-day transfer that day, or waiting until Monday for a 5-day transfer.  If the majority of the embies keep developing as they should, then they’ll give them a few extra days to expand and transfer the best quality embryo(s) on Monday.  If we end up with only a couple by Saturday, then they’ll transfer them back in sooner.

To be honest, this is better news than I had expected.  I feel like this cycle has been such a struggle, which was further reinforced by my pain yesterday, which then led me to totally forget to take my new meds last night (an antibiotic for post-surgery, and a steriod and baby Aspirin to help aid in implantation).  Luckily I didn’t screw things up too much – took everything this morning which the RE says is no problem.  But seriously, I’m SO ready to be DONE with this cycle – I just hope that it will end with good news.

I know I’m asking a lot of everybody, but if you could keep up the prayer for five more days, I’d really appreciate it! 😀

5 Comments »

  1. jolene1079 said,

    WOW! That is amazing…I feel so good for you about this, I really do. XO, this is wonderful news.

  2. Kari said,

    Congrats!! 7 is a great number of fertilized embies!! Sending those little embies strong vibes & hoping they all keep dividing perfectly!!

  3. jsutera654 said,

    Ohhhhh this is awesome news friend!! I am so, so, so hopeful for you! Love you guys!! xoxoxo

  4. Squashgirl said,

    Prayers coming your way! Five days probably seems like forever but really you are almost there! I hope the embies mature and grow and you have a successful ET! So glad for the good news so far! How are you feeling now?

  5. Kelly said,

    That is great news! I will keep the prayers coming and keep thinking positive thoughts for you. Hopefully the worst is over and you’ll have more good news to come.


Leave a Reply

