May 3, 2010

Follies and potty mouths

Posted in Infertility, IVF, Life at 2:28 pm by lifebytheday

So I survived the sober bar crawl – thanks in large part to my bestie Jess, who joined me for the stim shot extravaganza.  The best part of the whole thing was when I had just finished mixing and switching needles and was getting ready to shoot myself up, when in walks this youngish woman.  I promptly try to hide the syringe and look nonchalant.  I was like “oh go ahead, we’re not waiting” and she says “oh, no, I don’t have to go,” stands there looking around the bathroom for like 30 seconds and then walks out.  I said to Jess, “I probably looked like I was doing something super sketchy” and she was like “yeah well, she looked super sketchy and definitely not for the same reason!” 😛  Anyways, thanks babe!  (Here we are – me butting in on a picture with Jess and her husband :-))

More good news today at monitoring – they found an 18mm follie, along with a 17 and a few 16s, which means we HOPEFULLY are on track for retrieval Wednesday.  I’m sitting here trying to work from my home office, but just keep staring at the phone, waiting for the call.  I actually keep picking up my cell phone to make sure that I didn’t miss a call somehow.  Lord, have mercy – PLEASE let us do the ER on Wednesday and not Thursday!  Everybody out there, keep your fingers crossed!!

Oh, and the best part of the whole monitoring experience this morning?  When one of the nurses says to me “You’ve been here all week and you’re STILL here?!?”…my response?  “I’m still F—ING here!”  Yup, hello Mrs. Potty Mouth…that’s me.  And no, I didn’t say f-ing, I said F—ING, and LOUD.  I honestly don’t know what got into me, it was like I was possessed!  I barely ever swear to begin with, and definitely not in the company of strangers!!  I was MORTIFIED and immediately apologized, but they all just laughed.  When I told S, he started laughing hysterically and told me just to blame it on him.  So I will…those darn Irish and their potty mouths!!  Starting to rub off on me 😉

Let’s hope that I get a call soon with instructions for triggering TONIGHT…or else the air will be turning blue around here!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

YAY!!  Just got the call that we can trigger tonight at 9pm for a 9am retrieval Wednesday morning.  The nurse did say that my E2 dropped (again, dropped on Sunday to 964, and dropped more today) to 892, so I don’t know what that means, but I kind of don’t care.  The first hurdle is reached – we MADE IT to retrieval, and NOT on the day of my presentation!!  Please God this is the first of many things that will be going our way.

7 Comments »

  1. meg said,

    When were you “shooting up” ?? Totally missed that! I have no idea what your numbers mean but you seem so happy – so good luck on Wednesday and i hope everything follows in the right and healthy order after that! XO

  2. jolene1079 said,

    LOL I’m with Meg on the uh, where was I during that fun little debacle? 😉 cute pic of you guys, and SO GLAD things are moving along so well. I hope I hope I hope!!! 🙂

  3. egghunt said,

    Congratulations on triggering!!!!!!! We are SO cycle buddies. This is exciting isn’t it. Totally scary and breathtaking but hopefully we’ll get a good haul at retrieval. I will be thinking of you when I’m in that chair with that needle up my hoo-ha and wishing for the best for you.

    PS – loved the shooting up in the toilets story. Nice to be able to laugh about these things.
    xx

  4. Janine said,

    Yaaaaaaaaayyyyyyyyy! I am so happy that everything is on track for Wednesday. I feel the stars aligning for you, lady! 🙂

  5. jsutera654 said,

    I AM SO EXCITED I made it into your blog today, hehe. Hey, it’s the little things right?? I am still cracking up over that experience in the bathroom – that chick was SUPER-duper sketch if you ask me. We were merely shooting you up with IVF meds, what? That’s not normal protocol for a bar bathroom?? hehe. AND I’m SO HAPPY to hear that retrieval will happen tomorrow! I have everything crossed for you over here 😉 xoxo

  6. Ashley said,

    You are so adorable!! I love that picture of you. I’ve done a few bar shoot ups too. 🙂

    Good luck, I’m so excited for you! I will be thinking about you everyday!

  7. 21reena said,

    OMG- Your retrieval was TODAY!!! Wanna hear all about it when you’re up to it!!! xo


Leave a Reply

