April 26, 2010

Weekend in review

Posted in Infertility, Life at 11:03 am by lifebytheday

I don’t have a ton of spare time today, and am still EXHAUSTED from our weekend away, but just thought I’d share a few observations.

  1. 26 hours of driving in 3 days does not a romantic roadtrip make. ;-P  We actually had a really nice trip, but the driving part SUCKED.  14 hours down on Friday and 12 hours back yesterday.  We literally just took turns driving and napping and didn’t have any semblance of a quality conversation until the last hour of the trip yesterday.
  2. S looks handsome in a tux.  I know you never had any doubts, but I’ll post pictures later to prove it. 😉  We ended up not bringing our nice camera (I couldn’t convince S to carry it, and it obviously didn’t go with my outfit), so we just used our iPhones.  I have to wait for friends to post pics to FB and then I’ll grab one to share.  Oh, and the black and white dress was the perfect choice – everyone (but the wedding party) was in short, sassy dresses – yay!  Thanks friends 🙂
  3. Stims are NOT easy to do at weddings.  We ended up pretending I was diabetic and asked if there was somewhere more private that I could do my shot.  Everything was going fine until I had the needle in my stomach and then realized I hadn’t tapped out the air bubble, so then I had to stab myself twice and those (Gonal-F/Repronex) suckers HURT.  And finally, my crowning glory was that I could barely get my dress back down over my @$$!  Thanks a lot bubble skirt.

Anyways, we survived the drive and the injections, and had a great time while we were there.  We spent Saturday before the wedding being totally lazy – slept in, worked out, went for a swim, had a late lunch – perfection.  And the wedding was AMAZING – seriously, wait ’til you see the pics.

So this morning was back into the RE for the first E2/follie check.  Not many measurable follies, but that’s normal for this point…I’m just hoping that the E2 levels are more reasonable than last time.  Everybody needs to start praying that we actually make it to retrieval this time!!

8 Comments »

  1. Kari said,

    Sounds like a great weekend, minus the driving!! I have my fingers crossed for a bountiful retrieval this cycle!! 🙂

  2. D said,

    You guys look awesome!!

  3. Jess said,

    AW! You two look SO great!! And you’re right, S is SO handsome in a tux. Oh la la 😉

  4. Kelly said,

    Major bonus points for still living your life while on stims! 🙂 Sounds like you had a well-deserved good time. Best of luck to you in the next days and weeks!

  5. jolene1079 said,

    You are a HOT COUPLE!!!! Seriously, you both look fab and pish-posh on the fat @$$ comment!! pu-lease!!! Totally agree – Shane looks quite dapper in the tux and you look gorgeous. XO!

  6. Squashgirl said,

    You guys look great! Sounds like you had an adventure!

  7. Meg said,

    I wish there was a wolf whistle internet emoticon….

  8. 21reena said,

    You look awesome! and I’m SO impressed that you were able to deal with the stims at the wedding!


Leave a Reply

