April 21, 2010

Milking my diet

Posted in Life at 7:38 pm by lifebytheday

So, many of you may recall the hard core diet/lifestyle change I underwent a while ago – wow, almost a year and a half ago! On the advice of my acupuncturist and nutritionist, I went completely sugar-free and dairy-free, and did it cold turkey. I lasted about nine months…I mean, seriously, you can do anything for nine months. πŸ˜‰ I never really missed the dairy (I’ve always been slightly lactose-intolerant), but the no sugar KILLED ME. After a while, I just got sick of denying myself and thought that I could just eat some sugar and a little dairy…but clearly, I’m an all or nothing kind of girl.

After getting over my body’s readjustment to eating those things (I still feel super bloated and sluggish if I eat too much sugar), I now just try to eat generally healthy, with a few sweets here and there. (I mean, dinner isn’t dinner without dessert after. ;-)) But for some reason lately I have been CRAVING dairy. I still can’t stomach a glass of milk, but every morning I have a Stonyfield Farm yogurt super smoothie, and my snack of choice (well, besides dark chocolate) is an organic mozzarella string cheese! Oh, and we just had our inaugural ice cream from the local creamery. πŸ˜‰

I have no idea whyI’m suddenly craving dairy, but I can only think that this might be a good contribution to our upcoming cycle. Maybe my body knew that I needed extra protein and calcium…I mean, can’t hurt, right?!?

5 Comments »

  1. Hope said,

    It’s good to hear I can do anything for 9 months. I gave up carbs and sugar 3 weeks ago and wasn’t sure how I was going to handle it. So far, so good, but I’ve got a long way to go. It’s encouraging to hear someone else say they did it. Yeah for you! When can I have chips again??? πŸ™‚

  2. jolene1079 said,

    You and me both sista – craving dairy – well I crave it always, just cuz I am lactose intolerant as you know πŸ˜‰ EMBRACE the dairy you can have (and cabot cheese haha!).

  3. Jen said,

    You are awesome for doing that diet for 9 months! I like Jo and lactose intolerant so I can relate to wanting to drink milk but yogurt, I heart yogurt! Sounds like you are eating very healthfully now! Calcium and protein are good for you! Hope it means only good things for the future!

  4. jsutera654 said,

    I honestly have NO idea how you managed that diet for 9 months. I’d be miserable, utterly and truly! But I totally agree here – if your body is craving the dairy, do it up. It’s all goodness -protein, vitamin D, lots of goodies in there for you πŸ™‚

  5. 21reena said,

    I can’t believe you did that for 9 months – AMAZING!! Hoping you’re right that your body’s gearing up for some dairy needing πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

