April 11, 2010

Date night

Posted in Life at 3:38 pm by lifebytheday

I’m writing this post from my laptop, outside, christening the patio set for the first time in 2010 – yay!  S had the great idea for me to work outside under the umbrella, so that I wouldn’t feel stressed for not catching up on work, but I’d still be able to enjoy the beautiful weather.  That man is brilliant sometimes. 😉 

Speaking of that man, we’ve had a fantastic weekend.  I had to get up early and go to a conference for work yesterday, and I had no idea how long I’d have to be there.  Driving home around 2:30, I made the decision that since I had already blocked out the entire day – I hadn’t planned to do any housework or work-work – I would spend the entire afternoon with S, doing whatever he wanted me to do.  I know that probably sounds selfish, like I don’t often let him do what he wants, but in reality, S and I just have different things that we enjoy doing, and that are important to us to do around the house.  Lately, I’ve been spending my down time reading and catching up on DVR’d shows (when I’m not cleaning or doing laundry), whereas S spends all of his spare time outside, getting the yard ready for spring and working on his boat (more on that later – the boat deserves an entire post to itself!).  As soon as the snow melts, we tend to divide and conquer – S outside and me in – although I do help outside from time to time (just bought myself new work gloves – I call them my “no-whining” gloves). 😉

So we spent the afternoon emptying, cleaning, and refilling the koi pond – guess who got the job of scooping out the fish and nasty debris from the bottom? – and working on the boat.  Around dinnertime, I got a serious craving for chinese food – I know, definitely not on the pre-wedding diet, lol! – so we went to a local chinese buffet for dinner and a few mai tais, with plans to catch a movie afterwards.  We ended up having some extra time in between, so we went to one of the bars downtown, where we proceeded to play a few terrible games of pool, and some equally bad attempts at pinball.  We were having so much fun being casual and spontaneous that, despite the tackiness of our activities, it ended up turning into a really romantic date night.  We decided to forgo the movie and went home for a soak in our new tub and “early bed”.  😉

It’s been so long since I was able to relax and enjoy myself, and really connect with S, and it was just what we needed.  The whole night, I just kept thinking about how much fun I was having, how lucky we are that we still really enjoy each other’s company, and how we would NEVER have been able to have a night like that if we had kids.  We are very lucky to have my parents that live close to us and are young/healthy enough and WILLING to babysit, but we still definitely wouldn’t have been able to do something that spontaneous.  And what would we have done when we came home early?  Having to kick out my parents and then monitor the baby/babies would definitely have killed the mood, lol.  So, all that to say that Saturday night was one of the rare moments when I appreciated the fact that it’s still just the two of us.  And I think S probably did too. 😉

6 Comments »

  1. Kari said,

    What a great evening!! Those are most certainly things that are much, much easier to do sans children. So glad you and S were able to have some down time together and enjoy each other’s company!! 🙂

  2. jolene1079 said,

    Aw…that sounds like perfection. So glad you did that, seems it was just what you needed.

  3. APlusB said,

    Glad you had a nice weekend and I know what you mean about those brief moments of actually appreciating not having kids yet. Those moments are rare, but welcome when they come!

  4. jsutera654 said,

    AW!! I love this!! So glad you two had a chance to really shut everything else out and just be a romantic, fun couple for the night. It sounds like my idea of a perfect date night. Yay 🙂

  5. 21reena said,

    omg- what an awesome night! I need to suggest this to DH 🙂

  6. egghunt said,

    Just catching up on your posts. It’s really cool that you both had some spontaneous couple time. And you are so right – those sorts of things just can’t happen with ease when there are children in the picture. We fight so hard to have babies that sometimes we forget that there are a lot of parents who look at our situations with jealousy. I’m so pleased you were able to enjoy yourselves and forget about the ho hum of infertility for a while. x


Leave a Reply

