April 7, 2010

Black ties and fat @$$es

Posted in Life at 8:11 am by lifebytheday

Hi friends!  Thanks for all of the feedback on the dresses…although most of you were no help at all. 😉  (But also seriously, thank you for the comments about how I should blog-out my frustration.  I really appreciate the support.)  I’ve decided to go with the black and white one – partly to save money, and partly because a lot of my IRL friends told me I looked good in it, but also because I realized that the green dress was made of JERSEY material.  Even though it’s long, jersey is not okay for a black-tie wedding…which my very proper and fashionable friend confirmed for me, lol. 

The good thing about the black dress is that I already have EVERYTHING to go with it – great shoes (rhinestone T-strap black heels), jewelry (pearl and diamond necklace and earrings – from my own wedding, so they’re lucky :-)), and a black pashmina.  The only thing I don’t have – that I obviously need to get (now that I’m saving all of this money ;-)) – is a fancy clutch.  I want a sparkly one – any ideas?!?  Or does someone maybe have one that I can borrow??  If I don’t end up buying ANYTHING for this wedding, then no way can S complain when I have to get a hair cut and color, manicure and pedicure, and a spray tan. LOL!! 

I’ve realized why I’m obsessing about this wedding.  All along, I thought that I would be pregnant by now – if not six months and obviously cute and pregnant, then at least three months and able to tell everybody why I was fat and bloated (and obviously to buy a cute new maternity dress in both cases).  I think I’m feeling a little self conscious about the weight I’ve put on over the course of the past four years (not that it’s a ton, I know that – but I’m definitely ‘softer’ and less-defined than I used to be).  And even though the people that I’ll see at the wedding are all very good friends, that I know shouldn’t feel self conscious in front of, they’re also all gorgeous…and skinny. 

For so long, working out has not been a priority, especially during IVF cycles – first because I felt bloated and miserable, and then because I wasn’t allowed – and besides, if I’m just going to get fat once I’m pregnant, what’s the point?!?  Not logical, I know, especially because pregnancy and labor is so much better and easier if you’re in shape.  It’s just hard to care when you’re dealing with so much else.  And now, I’ve been trying to start exercising again, but when the choice is between sleep or working out – guess what wins? 😛 

So I guess this wedding will be the push I need to get back into the routine – as long as the dress zips (which I’ll confirm this weekend), I have two weeks to tighten up the rest.  I can do it, right? 😉

6 Comments »

  1. jolene1079 said,

    Good call on the dress – personally, I don’t love jersey material anyway, it’s not very forgiving at all (in my case, I HATE THAT!). And I LOVE that black dress on you!! You will look fab. Wish I had a purse for you, but alas, I do not. But I agree – you need that and the mani/pedi, tan, hair – sweet 🙂 And you look gorgeous, don’t change a thing 🙂

  2. Kari said,

    The black and white dress is beautiful!! And for sure you earned the clutch by saving money on the dress. 🙂 I’m pretty sure the mani, pedi, hair, and spray tan are earned by how hard you work. I say go all out!!

  3. jsutera654 said,

    You are going to look beautiful, babe. I can guarantee you that much! I have to say, you are even HARDER on yourself than I am, I swear (this reminds me of that long-ago IM convo we had, remember that??) – you are NOT fat by any means, and look great just the way you are. And I’m not just sayin’ that. 🙂 And guess what? I do have a clutch that might work – you can totally borrow it if you like it!

  4. Ashley said,

    Glad you chose the black and white, that’s my favorite! If you get the spray tan post pics, I’m always interested to see how that turns out! You are gorgeous and skinny so don’t worry about the friends . . .

  5. 21reena said,

    You look fantastic in that dress! Jersey definitely would be out!

    I’m with you about the “in shape” deal. It’s been impossible to pull it together AND I did always think that I’d be PG soon anyway – plus it’s not like I’d go to a wedding and be like – I’m looking fat casue my ovaries have been stimulated and they’re huge and I’m not aloud to move too much so they twist around….it would be so much nicer to be like “I’m preggo!”
    Anyway- I just wrote all that to tell you that I totally understand – and that you’re right, that these are all your good friends who will just be happy to celebrate at the wedding with you!

  6. cristin said,

    yay! i’m glad you went with the black and white- i love that dress 🙂 i have a clutch you might like too!


Leave a Reply

