March 31, 2010

Day by day

Posted in Infertility, Life at 11:13 am by lifebytheday

Thanks for all of the insightful comments on my last post.  I know that this fear won’t actually prevent me from desperately wanting, and continuing to try for, a baby…but it definitely adds another layer of worry.  To be honest though, my job has completely taken over my life and I haven’t even had the time or mental energy to worry (or even think!) about our next cycle – which is kind of nice.  Tonight is my last active BC pill of the first pack, so it will be another few weeks before I even have to re-start Lupron.  All I’m doing now is the BC, Metformin, prenatals, and fish oil – which definitely takes a few glasses of water to choke down every evening – but is significantly less demanding than the injections.  Right now, I’m lucky to take the pills within the same two-hour window every night, let alone at the exact same time which the shots require!  I’m glad that I made the decision to delay our next cycle a bit, and hope that I’ll be “relaxed” enough by May to give our embies a good shot. 🙂

In other news, things are finally getting a bit better at work.  I have finally made the rounds with my key customers and have started to organize things MY way, which makes it so much easier.  Besides just feeling like I know what I’m doing a bit more now, I think it’s better because I’ve finally realized that I can’t do it all, so I’ve stopped trying.  On Sunday night, I spent about an hour (when I should have been working) giving myself a manicure and pedicure, and that has seriously made a difference in my entire week.  Whenever I look down at my nails, I smile, take a breath, and relax…partly because they look nice, but also because they remind me that I’m doing my best, and that’s all anyone can ask of me (and more than that, its all I can ask of myself).

So, I’m definitely not out of the woods yet, but I’m starting to see the light at the end of the tunnel.  (Sorry for the mixed metaphor there, lol.)  To all of my IRL friends, thanks for being patient with my MIA-ness…I promise that I’ll make it up to you!

4 Comments »

  1. jsutera654 said,

    I’m so glad things are starting to take a turn! YAY! And I’m so proud of you for sticking it out, I know it hasn’t been easy. With that, I’ll leave you with a little Joel Osteen insight from his show on Sunday night that I just watched last night (may be a future blog post here!). The main takeaway was that we can’t live for the “superbowls” in life – the big highlights that don’t come up all the time that we invariably “can’t wait” for, often getting us to “rush” the everyday routine of our lives. One of his big points was learning to walk away from things like work demands when they are pulling you away from important things in life like family, friends and sunrises (yes, sunrises!). At the end of the day, in our last moments of life, it’s not work that will keep us company, its our friends and family. He was all about the “zig zag” effect – slowing down and enjoying the little things…like sunrises 🙂

  2. jolene1079 said,

    I am so glad things are smoothing out work-wise, too. It always takes time to get into a groove and you are constantly out of your comfort zone for awhile. But, you’re doing it, and you’re doing an amazing job!!! XO!

  3. 21reena said,

    so glad things seem to be calmer…you’ll be SO ready in May!

  4. egghunt said,

    I’m with you on feeling good about delaying the next IVF. This ‘break’ i’m having is by far the biggest I’ve ever had between cycles and I can’t believe how much better I feel because of it. Even if it has no difference on how my body responds to the next IVF I know I feel so much better mentally because of this break. Heres hoping we both have a lucky & positve cycle next time. 🙂


Leave a Reply

