March 25, 2010

Be careful what you wish for.

Posted in Life at 11:52 am by lifebytheday

So….yeah.  I definitely spoke too soon.  Tuesday’s cold was nothing compared to the plague of death that arrived yesterday.  I went to bed on Tuesday night with my day on campus all planned out for Wednesday, but spent the whole night awake, tossing and turning because I couldn’t breathe, and then spent yesterday curled up in a miserable ball on the couch.  I felt dizzy and woozy (so much that I couldn’t even read, so just vegged in front of the TV all day) and was afraid to take a shower until S came home for fear that I’d pass out.  Last night was definitely one of the “for worse”s in our marriage…hadn’t washed my hair since Monday morning, red/swollen/flaky nose, and lots of “can you get me…?” whining.  Lol! 

So this morning, I knew that I had to buck up and go through with my planned campus visit, especially since it was a relatively local school, and small enough that there were only a few people that I actually had to see.  The day started going downhill as soon as I got in the shower.  I started feeling very woozy and knew that I couldn’t stay in the shower for long (so there went my hopes for shaving my legs for yet another day :-P), and actually made S come help me over the tub ledge and out of the shower.  I sat down and had breakfast (oatmeal and OJ) thinking that might help, but nothing.  So I got ready slowly, dried my hair sitting down, and held on to whatever I could while I was walking around the house.  So pathetic.

Then, once I got in my car, I actually felt like the world was too bright, too loud, too fast…I was afraid to drive because I didn’t think my reflexes would actually work (!), so I drove like an 80 year old and turned the 25 minute drive into 45.  So now I’m on campus, in between appointments, trying to buck up and make it ’til my last appointment at 3 o’clock.  The worst part?  My boss is joining me on campus tomorrow, so he can see how far (or not) I’ve progressed, and I don’t even know if I’ll remember my name by then! :-/

6 Comments »

  1. Jen said,

    Oh noooooo!
    Sounds like a sinus infection to me! I had the double whamy of that and bronchitis and its been 2 weeks trying to get over it. You poor thing! Feel better!

  2. Jane said,

    Sorry you’re feeling so crummy. 😦 Get better soon, and stay safe!

  3. jolene1079 said,

    OMG I was RIGHT THERE WITH YOU feeling your pain…that sounds AWFUL!! I can’t believe you managed to go to work, you poor thing!! feel better! S is a Godsend isn’t he? 😉 Good man!

  4. jsutera654 said,

    Ohhh friend!! I am soooo sorry!! That sounds like utter misery! I wish I could hug you…even tho that would mean exposing myself to those germs and all. 😉 Hang in there!! Hugs!!

  5. 21reena said,

    omg- being sick is just so terrible – i’ve been sick forever and i’m always worried about work and everything. I’m so sorry – I hope you feel better SO SOON!

  6. Janine said,

    Good luck on campus today, lady — I hope the “get well” fairy visited you last night!!!


Leave a Reply

