February 3, 2010

Guess what?!?

Posted in Blog, Infertility, Life at 7:30 am by lifebytheday

Yesterday was my one-year blogging anniversary, and I DIDN’T EVEN REMEMBER!!  Probably still wouldn’t have, if one of my favorites hadn’t mentioned that hers was coming up soon as well.  I was like “Wait, didn’t I start my blog before Jo??” 😉  Oy.  I guess I just have a lot on my mind, huh?

It’s funny to go back and read my first few posts.  We were still on our break from treatments, so they were much more focused on “life”…S, Bailey, our house.  When I started the blog, I think I was sure I’d be pregnant by my one-year anniversary, but to be honest, this blog is probably the one reason why I’m okay that I’m not.  That doesn’t really make sense, I know, and it isn’t really 100% accurate…obviously, I’m not really “okay” that I’m not pregnant.  But this blog (and all of my wonderful readers) has been a way for me to express my feelings, and get support and opinions from some very smart people.  People that care enough to read about my crazy thoughts and not-very-funny stories, and keep coming back for more!  Seriously, are you guys gluttons for punishment, or what?? 😉

But really, this blog has been like a diary, but so much better.  I can bare my soul as needed, but because I’m also writing for an audience, I find that I spend more time trying to explain my feelings, which also helps me to process and understand them.  And on top of that, knowing that people are taking time out of their day to come to my little piece of the world, I feel more pressure to keep up with the blog on a regular basis.  I still haven’t managed to get the post-every-day thing down pat, but I’m trying.

I also have to give S some serious credit for his support of this blog.  Clearly, I’m not a real private person…I like talking about what’s going on in my life, and a good number of my real-life friends know most, if not all, of what has been going on.  However, S does NOT.  S would rather no one knew about anything until we showed up with a child, and that involves anything to do with our sex life, our disagreements…fill-in-the-blank.  So I’ve tried to walk a fine line between fulfilling my need for release, and maintaining S’s request for privacy.  Some days that balance isn’t quite right, so you’ll find me editing posts after the fact…and other days, I find myself writing in code, desperately trying to express my feelings despite my self-censor.  I’m hoping that I’ll find an appropriate balance as my blog continues to develop, but for now, I just want to thank S for letting me talk about him at all!

Out of curiosity, I just went to take a look at my blog stats, and as of today, my blog has received7,777 hits.  Considering that my favorite number is 7, I’d say that’s a pretty good sign, wouldn’t you?  Definitely not as high as your 30,000 Jo, but in my defense, I think I’m in more of a niche market. 😉 LOL!

7 Comments »

  1. Bree said,

    Had to delurk to say congrats on the 1 year anniversary. My blog and the people I’ve met through it are my lifeline.

  2. Jess said,

    Happy blog anniversary friend! I have loved reading your posts, they’re thoughtful, thought-provoking, and filled with emotion. I think you’re right, this has been a good outlet for you through all the ups and downs (and a few laughs too) during this journey called life…and life dealing with IVF. I can’t wait to see what the next year brings! xoxo

  3. Kari said,

    Congrats on 1 year!! 🙂 I enjoy reading your blog and thank you and S for sharing the things in your life that are hard to share. 🙂

  4. b said,

    we love you guys! i don’t think i have ever met such a strong couple.

  5. jolene1079 said,

    YAY – happy blog birthday my friend!!! 🙂 And 7,777 – that’s a very cool number. And yes, yours is more niche, in a way, I suppose, isn’t it? I’m surprised just how many divorce bloggers are out there, clearly, as my blogroll grows by the minute. We should have a celebratory drink! heehe

    and PS – let me just say that your optimism and happiness is so apparent – I am glad you are at peace right now, despite it all. You’re an inspiration, truly.

  6. AplusB said,

    Happy blog anniversary. I say 7777 is a VERY lucky number if I do say so myself!!

  7. 21reena said,

    HAPPY ANNIVERSARY!!!! I love reading your blog!

    You put into words exactly how I feel about blogging (and our husbands must be cut from the same cloth…i have to totally censor for him…).

    7777 is VERY lucky…can’t wait for you to announce what that luck has brought!


Leave a Reply

