January 15, 2010

Acu, oops, and thanks!

Posted in Acupuncture, Infertility tagged , , at 4:51 pm by lifebytheday

Getting ready to head out the door for a much needed long weekend, but wanted to write a quick post.

Firstly, for all of those who thought I had my act together, I’ve proven you wrong. 😛  This morning, on my third day of injections, I totally FORGOT to do my Lupron before leaving for work this morning!!  I got up early (really, on time) and just blasted out the door without doing it!  (I have it planned for 6 am, so I do it right before I leave if I get up on time, and right when I wake up if I sleep in…and I guess I’ll have to set an alarm for the weekends. ;-))  S – my hero – totally rearranged his whole morning in order to go home, get it, and then drive it in to me in the city (not happy about it, but he did it).  Thank goodness!  Today, I’m definitely thankful for my wonderful hubby.  So I ended up doing it four hours late…not a huge deal for day 3, although I definitely don’t plan to repeat that.

In other news, I went to my first appointment with a new acupuncturist – located right down the street from my RE, who works in conjunction with Western medicine (and my RE’s office in particular).  Some of you may remember my breaking up with my old acu…mostly over a misunderstanding, but also because he just couldn’t get behind IVF and I really wanted someone who could see the value in the two treatments combined.  The new acu is super sweet (a little hard to understand, but that’s okay!) and over half of his patients are there for fertility treatments.  He’s a little more expensive than I was hoping, but it will be fine for 5 or 6 treatments, just up to and through the transfer.  He also reminded me that I need to get back on track with my diet, so wish me luck!  Maybe I’ll wait until after the weekend. 😉

Finally, just wanted to leave you with the passage from today’s daily devotion:

In times of crisis, we grasp the importance of every hour. During our ordinary routine, however, we often forget that each day is a second chance. “Through the Lord’s mercies we are not consumed, because His compassions fail not. They are new every morning; great is Your faithfulness. ‘The Lord is my portion,’ says my soul, ‘therefore I hope in Him!’ ” (Lam. 3:22-24).

We can choose to live with thankfulness for God’s mercy and grace, with confidence in His faithful care, and with hope because He is with us forever. Today, God offers us a second chance in life. Let’s make the most of it! —David McCasland

In light of the crisis in Haiti, let’s all remember to be thankful for what we have, and to treat each and every day as a fresh start.  Hugs!

5 Comments »

  1. 21reena said,

    oh my gosh – i can totally see myself forgetting to do the shots…i almost always for get to take my metformin…glad hubby was able to get it to you – YAY!

  2. APlusB said,

    So true about being thankful for what we have. Amen!
    Good luck with the acupuncture. I’m glad you found a practitioner that is on the same wavelength as you.

  3. jolene1079 said,

    That is an awesome scripture, J, I love it. And LOVE that S came in and gave you your meds! What a fab hubby 😉

  4. jsutera654 said,

    I LOVE that line about each day being a fresh start, so true, even though it’s hard to live by now and then 😉 YAY for S, he’s a keeper 😉

  5. Jennifer said,

    I just found your blog through another TTC blog. I have been doing some research into acupuncture and even asked my dr about it. We had our 2nd IUI a week ago this past Friday and of course we are hoping that works. If it doesn’t I am going to check further into acupuncture. My RE even has one that works closely with him.


Leave a Reply

