January 12, 2010

Outed!

Posted in Infertility tagged , at 10:15 am by lifebytheday

Aahhhh!  I’ve just been outed – by myself!  I don’t know what I was thinking, but I was on FB this morning and saw a status update from a good friend of mine (and fellow infertile) who just recently adopted a beautiful baby boy.  The message?

Put this as your status if you or somebody you know has suffered BABY LOSS or INFERTILITY. The majority won’t put it on, because unlike cancer, baby loss/infertility is a taboo. Break the silence. In Memory of all the ~Angel~ babies gone too soon but never forgotten, and the babies who were not possible but are so loved. Amen!

Before I could think too much about it, I pressed copy and paste and now that’s my status update as well.  First of all, I’m not big into FB updates, and second of all, I’m pretty sure I don’t want ALL of my FB “friends” to know that I’m infertile…but I think awareness is important enough that I sucked it up and did it. 

I’m not even a particularly private person about the things we’ve been going through – all of my best friends, and even some of my acquaintances, know that we’re going through IVF, but it’s really scary to think that everyone will know.  I guess I’ll just focus on the “you or someone you know” part and not talk about it with anyone I don’t want to. 

Eek!  I hope this doesn’t backfire.

8 Comments »

  1. redpen said,

    My guess is, people will assume you know someone who is infertile. I wouldn’t sweat it!

  2. Kari said,

    It’s hard sometimes to balance awareness and privacy, I think that’s why some things(infertility, miscarriage, etc.) are so misunderstood. Glad you helped the cause, hope it doesn’t cause you any grief.

  3. 21reena said,

    It didn’t backfire…I think it’s great you’re raising awareness!…and you can always respond to people’s comments in any way you feel comfortable!

  4. Jess said,

    I agree, friend. I doubt anyone thought your status update was related to you personally, only those who KNOW you know what’s up. No sweating!! 😉

  5. Myndi said,

    Honestly, people are reticent to discuss it, so it’s unlikely you’d get asked about it no matter what they think (it was you or someone you know). However, if one of your friends has also suffered from IF or loss, they may now feel comfortable coming to you in private about it which is always a good thing.

    You were brave to post that. I’ve said so many things on FB relating to trying, getting pregnant…after announcing our loss…I just can’t go back there. Thanks for standing up for all of us. And don’t worry too much about aftermath…I think you’ll be just fine. 😉

  6. APlusB said,

    Good for you! The world can use more education about infertility and knowing someone going through it will make it so much more real for people. I don’t think it will backfire at all.

  7. jolene1079 said,

    I didn’t really put two and two together when I read your FB update earlier, though I guess some will assume it and others will (as some pointed out here) think you just know someone infertile. Either way, I think it’s fantastic! 🙂

  8. cristin said,

    i read your status and was all ready to put it up as my status until i got too sidetracked and forgot facebook. i would imagine everyone will assume you just know someone as well 🙂


Leave a Reply

