January 6, 2010

And so it begins!

Posted in IVF tagged , at 3:50 pm by lifebytheday

Last night, I arrived home to (dinner made – homemade lasagna – thanks to my handy dandy crockpot! 😉 but also) my box o’meds for our upcoming IVF!  I was too tired to face it last night, so this morning I pulled them all out to make sure that I had everything (and enough of what) I needed.  And then, just for fun, I took a picture.  I’ve never done that before, but then again, I’ve never had this many meds before (!), and I know a lot of people who have done this and had successful cycles, so I figured what the heck!  I have a feeling I’m going to be doing a little bit of EVERYTHING this time around (including superstitions and old wives’ tales if applicable ;-)), just so I can say we left it all on the table with this cycle.

(Sorry it’s a little blurry…the downside of using an i.Phone.) 

So for shits and giggles (well that, and posterity ;-)), I thought I’d tell you what each of the meds are, what they’re used for, and when I’ll be taking each one.  From left to right, back row first…drumroll please!

  • Lupron (or Leuprolide) – This is the first round of shots, which I start on January13th.  This drug is used to suppress my ovaries, so that my PCOS doesn’t explode when faced with the other fertility meds.  I’ll be on Lupron for ten days, before I add the “stims.”
  • Gonal-F and Repronex – drugs used to stimulate the ovaries to produce eggs (in preparation for the retrieval/harvesting).  So in case you were counting, two drugs = two shots.  If all goes according to plan, I’ll start these on the 23rd, and will do the Lupron shot in the morning and these two in the evening.
  • Novarel – This med is pure hCG, a hormone produced naturally during pregnancy, and is used to force ovulation (releasing of the eggs) prior to the retrieval.  I’ll do this one-time injection once enough of my follicles (where the eggs live/grow) have matured.  Once I do this, I stop the other meds and retrieval is two days later.
  • Doxycycline (the first small bottle and the big bottle) – an antibiotic, prepping for the egg retrieval and transfer
  • *Not pictured* Baby Aspirin – starting on the evening of the retrieval, used to increase blood flow and help prevent miscarriage
  • Medrol/Methylprednisone (the small bottle on the right) – a low dose steroid, used to assist with implantation of the embryo, also started on the evening of the retrieval
  • Progesterone in oil (the two bottles in the middle) – This one is the doozy.  A thick oil-based med, injected with a HUGE (well not really, but compared to the others) syringe, into the muscle (as compared to the others which are injected into fat), used to help prepare (and then maintain) the lining of the uterus for implantation.  If we are successful in getting pregnant, I actually may need to continue these shots for WEEKS – and to top it all off?  Because of where these shots need to be placed (upper ass), I can’t do them myself – S has to – which really FREAKS out my control-freak-self. Lol!
  • Diazepam/Valium (the second small bottle from the left) – taken the morning of the transfer to relax the muscles of the uterus (and everything else) 😉
  • Vivelle patches – and last but not least, an estrogen patch used to supplement the hormones that my body should be making normally.  This patch is used between the transfer and the pregnancy test (two weeks later) and is replaced every two days.

And there you have it…all the pill popping and shooting up I’ll be doing over the next month or so!  Hopefully this is the LAST time I ever have to juggle this many meds at once…

4 Comments »

  1. APlusB said,

    Holy crap that’s a lot of drugs!! I had no idea…

  2. 21reena said,

    OMG- I’m so excited that you’re ready to start- YAY!!!! at the same time…not gonna lie, it scared the crap out of me – I go to my teach class on Tuesday and they’re gonna tell me what meds to take…please post tips on the best way to do this all. GOOD LUCK – I am so hopeful for you!!!

  3. Myndi said,

    I have a similar picture, and it was daunting at first, but rest assured, you will become an old pro nearly overnight. 🙂

    So exciting when the meds arrive, more proof that you are on your way to that baby you’ve been dreaming of. From here, things really start to pick up and you’ll be at beta before you know it.

    Good luck!

  4. Meg said,

    That is one heck of picture – best of luck to you and S! I will be thinking of you!

    XOXO
    Meg


Leave a Reply

