January 5, 2010

Revelations and resolutions

Posted in Life tagged , at 9:00 am by lifebytheday

As S and I were driving to our friends’ for NYE, he asked me, “what were your five favorite things (best things that happened, etc.) from this past year?”  Now, before I tell you what I said, keep in mind that I was GROUCHY on NYE day…  So it was with some effort that I scraped together my list:
1. Getting Killian
2. Going to Hawaii
3. S’s business really taking off (he now has two full-time employees, and plans to expand into a nearby factory in the new year)

And that was it.  I refused to wrap my brain around any other positives…so S helped.
4. That I have a job that I mostly don’t hate (and even occasionally like)
5. Our health.  This one was a wake up call for me – S’s mom has been in the hospital in Ireland for two weeks (was diagnosed with pneumonia and emphysema and is just generally very ILL) and I realized that I was being selfish by focusing on the negatives in my life. 

In fact, when I announced to S that instead of five good things, I could think of five bad things from the past year, he was gratified to find me stumped at item two.  My list:
1. We still don’t have a baby and aren’t pregnant
2. I’m fat (from the IVF meds, and then from just not caring because I’m going to get pregnant and fat soon anyways, right? ;-))

So actually, that’s a great segway into my resolutions for the year:
1. To eat better and exercise more regularly, so that my body is in the best shape possible for the ER and ET in February.  I can do that in a month, right?  Even after that, I want to try to stay in really good shape throughout my pregnancy, so I’m keeping this as a resolution for the year.
2. To to start a budget and keep better track of our bills.  When I feel overwhelmed by our finances, I tend to stick my head in the sand and “forget” to pay bills on time.  Never anything super important, but we’ve definitely been charged a late payment here or there.  Since we’re planning to have a baby in 2010, we want to get our debt paid down and our savings built up before our new addition arrives.  S really wants to get us to a place of better security (where I could maybe work part time once the baby comes).
3. To spend more time and energy on S and our relationship.  Now, that’s not to say that there’s anything wrong with our marriage, but we were definitely taking each other for granted a bit during the past few months.  I also need to find a way to physically “connect” better…hopefully ending the BCPs soon will help a little on that front. 😉

So there you have it, three resolutions basically focused on making sure that we are ready for our baby when he or she arrives – physically, financially, and emotionally.  Hopefully next year on NYE I’m able to say that the best thing that happened to us in 2010 was the birth of our child!!

3 Comments »

  1. Kari said,

    Good luck with the resolutions and I hope next year your #1 best thing from 2010 will be the birth of your child!! Good luck with your February cycle!!

  2. jolene1079 said,

    You are NOT fat 😉 Sorry, just had to say that 😉 XOXO – your list is very reasonable!!!

  3. 21reena said,

    I think your resolutions are perfect…I may follow them myself 🙂


Leave a Reply

