December 11, 2009

When there’s nothing left to give

Posted in Life at 3:48 pm by lifebytheday

Lately, life has been rough in the LifeByTheDay household.  Not that rough (I don’t want to jinx ourselves), but definitely rough enough.  (Do you hear me universe??  We don’t need ANY more, thank you very much.)  This happens every year around this time – people want their furniture done before their holiday parties (Thanksgiving and Christmas), so S’s business gets insanely busy.  Don’t get me wrong – we absolutely appreciate this, especially in this economy, but it’s kind of a drag that he is SO stressed out and working such long (10-15 hour) days during what should be a festive holiday season.  And I’m sure you all know what happens when hubby is stressed… 😉 

This year, on top of all that, I’M insanely busy, overwhelmed, and burnt out at work, so where I would usually pick up the slack at home (and ignore his attempts to pick a fight), I’m jumping right into the ring.  I don’t know if this is true for others, but I really rely on at least one of us being sane at any one time.  (One of my favorite IVF memories is when S told me “I know that’s just the hormones talking”…LOL!)  It’s a real problem when we’re both so tired and stressed that we have no more energy left to give each other by the end of the day.  (I find this is true with my friends as well – it’s not a good scene when any two of us are having a bad day at the same time…)

Last night was a perfect example.  I made plans to go to a special advent healing mass with my mom (MUCH needed), and S was working late and was upset that I wasn’t going to have dinner waiting for him at home.  Add to that, the fact that on Wednesday, I worked from home all day (had an appt in the morning, and timed it well cuz there was a major snow storm that day) but didn’t shovel or salt the driveway while I was home – and he was NOT HAPPY.  In my defense, S loves to shovel/snowblow so I don’t usually have to help (yes, I realize that I’m a bit spoiled ;-)), and I really WAS working all day.  Yes, I realize I should have helped – and I apologized, don’t worry – but it turned into a MAJOR argument where he was bringing up random, old issues (my pet peeve – we’ve already discussed this, move on!) and being totally unreasonable.  I refused to fight back, so he went to bed early (in the guest room, which he has never done) and we still weren’t talking this morning.

Then, around 11:30, I got a call from the reception desk that I had a “package.” 

Beautiful flowers, with a note that said “I love you, S.”  I called him to thank him and jokingly said, “I know that was a non-apology apology, so thank you.”  And he was like “No, those were ‘just because,’ not an apology…just kidding, I know I was a little hard on you, and I figured this was the only way I’d get some @$$.”  And that, ladies and gentleman, is my husband.  Aren’t you jealous? 😉

5 Comments »

  1. Kari said,

    What an awesome DH!! 🙂 I hope the holiday season stress wanes some and you can connect and enjoy the holidays together, you & S, stress free.

  2. 21reena said,

    You’re right about needing one calm person in the house…whenever there isn’t one over here it is not fun…and yes, most of the time i’m not the calm one it’s due to IF meds and hormones. I LOVE that he sent those flowers – BEAUTIFUL!

    In other news… I STARTED the COUCH to 5K today!!!! It was great, thank you so m uch for the suggestion! How’s it going for you?

  3. jolene1079 said,

    Aw, that’s so sweet!! the flowers are gorgeous too!!

  4. 21reena said,

    Hey! Just wanted you to know I gave you an award – come see!

  5. Jess said,

    That is priceless, love S!! This is what I love about you two, you can have these major blowouts and move right on after, sign of a strong marriage if you ask me 🙂


Leave a Reply

