November 29, 2009

Couch potato no more!

Posted in Exercise tagged , at 10:05 am by lifebytheday

Yesterday, Bailey and I did our first workout of the couch to 5K program – yay!!  It’s been a long time since I worked out regularly, but I’m now committed to getting back in shape.  The fact that I’m going to gain weight anyways (hello IF-meds?) is no longer an excuse – I need to be healthy in preparation for our upcoming pregnancy!  The couch to 5K program is a great way to slowly get to where I want to be (running a 3K, 5K, and maybe even a 10K someday)!  So yesterday’s first workout started out with a 5-minute “brisk” walk, at which point I was like, puh-lease, this is so easy, I should just run for the 20 minutes.

Good thing I didn’t, lol!  The whole point of the program is to gradually increase your stamina so that it is not such a shock to your body.  So yesterday’s workout consisted of the 5-minute walk, then 20 minutes of alternating a minute of jogging and a minute and a half of walking.  By the 15-minute mark, I was really feeling the pain.  It didn’t help that it was FREEZING and GUSTING wind.  So, I ended up walking the last 5 minutes, but all in all, I felt like it was a pretty successful first workout.

One question though, for any of you fitness buffs out there (Jess? ;-)) – what does it mean when the skin on my legs (thighs mostly, even up on my hips) gets crazy ITCHY?  Am I not getting enough oxygen or something?  I used to have exercise-induced asthma (hence the reason I just don’t run), and I noticed it again yesterday.  I’m not going to use that as an excuse this time around though…calling the doctor on Monday for an inhaler!  But besides my wheezing and thighs-on-fire legs, it went great! 😉

6 Comments »

  1. 21reena said,

    Thanks for posting a link to that site – that sounds like a GREAT plan! If I get a BFN this week, I’m gonna start it next week to get in better shape! (If I get a BFP, I’m gonna take a less bouncy aproach to getting in shape). Good luck!!!! If I start it next week, (if you want) we can check in with each other to stay on track!

  2. Jess said,

    GO YOU!!! I can’t wait to run your first 5k with you 🙂 As for the itchy thing? That used to happen to me ALL THE TIME. I don’t have a technical reason for it but I swear it happened often when I was just starting to run, I’m thinking it could have something to do with the additional blood flow to your legs that you’re not used to, hence the itchy burn? Just a hunch though, but rest assured, it will go away, promise! xo

  3. Meg said,

    I started that program before Thanksgiving! I am repeating the second week because I really didn’t work out that much during the past week. I totally thought I was in better shape than I was!

  4. jolene1079 said,

    YAY – let’s run together! 😉 I got nothin on the itchy legs either, but I got that wicked bad at the beginning too!!

  5. girlykat said,

    The itchy legs is from increased blood flow. No need to worry! I am here from “Still waiting for my sunshine” and I’m joining in on the journey. I’m on a forced break due to an ectopic pregnancy, so I’ve got at least 2 months to drop some pounds! I’m in!
    For some reason my blog doesn’t come up as a link, but its girlykat.wordpress.com

  6. […] yet, but DH and I plan to tonight.  My friend at “lifebytheday” put up a great post, Couch potato no more!, with a link to a running/walking exercise program.  I’m gonna start it […]


Leave a Reply

