November 21, 2009

Hello ICLW!

Posted in Infertility tagged , at 4:21 pm by lifebytheday

Continuing the theme from yesterday’s post about the fantastic community I’ve discovered online, over the next week I’m participating in November’s ICLW (International Comment Leaving Week).  This is a great opportunity to find some new blogs, and get some new readers as well!  I’m so excited to meet some new people and hear about their IF journeys…so in honor of ICLW, a quick recap of me and my blog!

My husband (S) and I got married in June of 2004 and threw out the BCPs in March of 2006.  I had never had a regular period and suspected that we would have problems getting pregnant, so we started “trying” sooner than we might have.  Good thing we did!  After six months with no period, I got tested and was diagnosed with PCOS.  The next step was Metformin, for several months, followed by Clomid, but still no period or ovulation. 

In September of 2007, I started seeing an RE, who re-did some tests and two cycles of Clomid (ovulation, but long, un-trackable cycles), and then took us through two cycles of IVF (in February and June 2008).  The first cycle produced 16 eggs, but only one mature embryo, and was a BFN.  The second cycle had similar results, but I had some complications after ER (internal bleeding and OHSS), so we had to freeze our one embie.  In November of 2008, we did an FET, which unfortunately was another BFN. 

At that point, we had lost our insurance benefits, and decided to try to regulate my cycle “naturally” for a while.  So for nine months, I did acupuncture, dieted (no dairy or sugar), took vitamins and herbs, etc.  In all that time, I had one spontaneous ovulation, but no luck.  I recently started seeing a new RE (the IVF director at Mass General Hospital in Boston) and have started back up with Metformin, in preparation for IVF cycle #3 in January.  I’m SO hopeful that this January will be the end of my story!!

So anyways, that’s me – thanks for visiting!

9 Comments »

  1. Hannah said,

    I hope that the third time is the charm for you! Good luck with the IVF cycle. We are hoping to start IVF #2 in January.

  2. Andie said,

    Happy ICLW!

    Just stopping by to say thanks for visiting my blog and leaving a hug, much appreciated.

    Sorry to hear you have been through so much on your journey. Here’s hoping the new RE brings you every success!

    All the best
    Andie

  3. marisa said,

    Happy ICLW!

    Hope cycle 3 is the one!

  4. liddy said,

    Best wishes for your next upcoming cycle.

    Stopping by for an ICLW visit…
    No. 2: the unfair struggle (mfi, speedskating, nanowrimo)

  5. C said,

    Great to have found your blog! I hope that your next IVF cycle is it! Looking forward to catching up with your blog 🙂

    All the best!

    ICLW

  6. Astrid said,

    Nice to ‘meet’ you – I really hope January is it for you.

  7. Krystal said,

    It’s nice to “meet” you! I agree with you about the support the IF blogosphere and message board offer. I’m on a PCOS message board and those girls are some of my best friends, because they’ve been where I am! It’s awesome!

    I’m praying that third time is the charm for your IVF!

    Happy ICLW!

  8. Miriam said,

    Stopping by for ICLW. I hope this coming cycle brings you a BFP! Have a wonderful Thanksgiving!

  9. Wait, What? said,

    Best of luck on your next IVF! ICLW


Leave a Reply

