May 18, 2009

Popping pills

Posted in Infertility at 10:07 am by lifebytheday

Now that I’m being treated like I’m a “normal” woman preparing for a pregnancy, my acu/nutritionist has me on all sorts of herbal supplements.  These include a prenatal vitamin (which I boycotted while on break ;-P), wheat germ oil (said to reduce the incidence of complications during pregnancy), Symplex F (to support the production and function of female hormones), and a four-part herbal supplement called Blossom (a different herb for each part of my cycle).  This adds up to a total of 22 pills, some timed with meals and others between meals, spread out over the course of the day. 

While infinitely better than the shots of an IVF cycle, the pills are equally tedious.  It takes a couple pints of water to get each batch down, so I’m constantly up and down at work, either peeing or refilling my water bottle.  Although clearly, if this is all it takes to get and stay pregnant, it’s the least I can do!  At least I’ll be hydrated, right? 😉

1 Comment »

  1. iamstacey said,

    my dr. also has me taking evening primrose oil. at least it’s not some kind of fish oil! That comes back to haunt ya all day long.


Leave a Reply

